Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This is my favorite chili recipe ever. I've made it several times and it always delicous. The only change I've made is not to add the extra pepper. We top it off with sour cream and fritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This chili was excellent, although I made a few changes based on personal preference. I used jalapeno pepper instead of the habanero, cut the crushed red pepper flakes by half, omitted the liquid smoke, substituted black beans for the kidney beans, and just threw in the whole can of corn. The chili came out a mild-medium spiciness, and was a real crowd-pleaser. Sadly, there were no leftovers for me to take to work. Guess I'll make a bigger recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
That's some spicy chili! I am usually not a fan of spicy foods, but its the kind of spicy that creeps up after you put it in your mouth, then gets milder as soon as you swallow, so you aren't frantically gasping for water. I used the exact recipe except for two things: I added two whole jalapenos in with the veggies to sautee, only because my boyfriend likes to eat them whole. I also added a full can of corn, oh, and because I only had 1.3 lbs of turkey, I added an extra can of kidney beans. I used both light and dark which makes for pretty colors. Thanks so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Great stuff. Everyone I know who tries this thinks it's made with beef. I leave out the seasoned salt and habanero, no complaints yet. Don't be afraid to throw in half a Dove bar or a few Hershey's Kisses if you don't have the coco mix, it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This is the best! Did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is really, really delicious! I added an extra half of an onion, used two habaneroes and left the seeds in half of one, made all dry spice measurements heaping, used one can of original and one can of undrained extra-hot tomatoes with green chilies, 2 cans of kidney beans, used scotch bonnet pepper hot sauce (but only a tsp), and added the corn earlier. Almost too hot but I won't ever use another recipe! Serve over Frito's, top with Mexican shreeded cheese blend, garnish with chopped onion and you've got a Texas Frito Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
absolutely wonderful!! didn't change a thing. great chili!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Very Spicy tasty chili! My little girl doesn't like food to Hot, so I omitted the habanero pepper and it was still plenty spicy. I don't think my family even noticed it was turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWISTEDPASSION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Awesome! My friends went crazy for this chili. I substituted cocoa powder for the hot chocolate mix and smoked paprika for the regular paprika. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Corolla, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I've been making all kinds of chili recipes for a while and this is the best. The hot chocolate mix is the secret ingredient giving it a mole type flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States