Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Fantastic recipe! The hot chocolate is the secret ingredient here; it flattens the heat curve, allowing the full flavour of the chili to present itself before the heat comes on in a satisfying finish. I made only a couple of changes to the recipe; being a red meat kind of guy, I used 1 lb of lean ground beef and 1 lb of ground moose, and added about a cup of pinto beans. The only other modification was using one red bell pepper and one green pepper. The finished product was absolutely stellar, and wound up easily winning first place at the company chili cook-off; it was the first pot to empty and people coming for thirds were disappointed to see it gone. This recipe is a definite keeper. To anyone considering deleting the hot chocolate or subbing pure cocoa: if you do, consider trying with the hot chocolate as well. The effect of the cocoa and the sugar on the heat of the habaneros and hot sauce is pure magic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Best chili I have ever eaten!! I have GERD so I need to watch my spice level -so I substituted the habanero for a jalapeno. After cooking the turkey mixture, I put everything into a crock pot (minus Kidney Beans and Corn) - and slow cooked it for 6 hours (add the corn and beans last hour of cooking so it doesn't get too mushy).... now that's gooooooood!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Great stuff. Everyone I know who tries this thinks it's made with beef. I leave out the seasoned salt and habanero, no complaints yet. Don't be afraid to throw in half a Dove bar or a few Hershey's Kisses if you don't have the coco mix, it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
That's some spicy chili! I am usually not a fan of spicy foods, but its the kind of spicy that creeps up after you put it in your mouth, then gets milder as soon as you swallow, so you aren't frantically gasping for water. I used the exact recipe except for two things: I added two whole jalapenos in with the veggies to sautee, only because my boyfriend likes to eat them whole. I also added a full can of corn, oh, and because I only had 1.3 lbs of turkey, I added an extra can of kidney beans. I used both light and dark which makes for pretty colors. Thanks so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is really, really delicious! I added an extra half of an onion, used two habaneroes and left the seeds in half of one, made all dry spice measurements heaping, used one can of original and one can of undrained extra-hot tomatoes with green chilies, 2 cans of kidney beans, used scotch bonnet pepper hot sauce (but only a tsp), and added the corn earlier. Almost too hot but I won't ever use another recipe! Serve over Frito's, top with Mexican shreeded cheese blend, garnish with chopped onion and you've got a Texas Frito Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This is by far the best chili I have ever made. My husband continues to rave about it and has requested that I make it again ASAP. The flavor of this chili is simply outstanding. I wimped out a bit and used a jalapeño pepper rather than a habanero, but it was still outstanding. Wonderful recipe! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDIRENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was one of the best chilis that I have ever had. My whole family enjoyed. It was just spicy enough but not too spicy. Never heard of putting cocoa mix in chili before but I'm game and the taste was fantastic. Could not even tell that this was chili made with turkey. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I've been making all kinds of chili recipes for a while and this is the best. The hot chocolate mix is the secret ingredient giving it a mole type flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
this chili was fantastic. my boyfriend and i love spicy food so this was right up our alley. all the flavors compliment each other so well. i have even added pineapple a few times to this recipe just to balance out the spicy with the sweet. i recommend this chili to everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Okay...I am a total foodie! I grew up down south and I love spicy foods and soul food. I lived in Chicago for many years and that's where I really developed my tastes. This chili is SOOO freakin' good! One of the best chocolate bars I ever had was chili chocolate, and the combination is stellar!! I would've never thought to add it in with chili, but why not?? So great!! The only changes I made was a slosh more of beer and an additional can of beans. I followed everything else exactly, and it just came out so wonderful! I am making this for the second time upon this writing but plan to make, eat, share, and love this recipe for the rest of my life. It just don't get no better y'all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States