Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I've become a Thanksgiving legend in my circle of friends for this chili. This stuff is legit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Impressive. I really dislike smoke flavoring and although this was on the verge of being too 'smokey' it turned out really good. The little bit of sweet was such a nice addition. I used a Pam in my pan instead of olive oil. I left out the habenero thinking the kids would be more likely to eat this (which they didn't eat anyway, b/c it was still too spicy) and I had to use salsa instead of tomato sauce as that is all I had. Next time, I will be sure to have everything chopped and/or measured beforehand b/c I feel like a lot of the liquid was simmered away since it was taking me forever to get everything in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Loved this but was super spicy and I didn't even add the habanero! Very tasty though, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is an Excellent chili. My best recommendation - Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I think this is the best chili I've ever had!!! I thought about substituting the turkey with ground beef but decided to try the turkey. It was amazing. I omitted the habenaro peppers and the hot sauce because of my kids. It had just the right amount of kick with the red pepper flakes so I was not disappointed. The hint of sweet from the hot chocolate packet was perfect. Highly recommend this chili on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is the best chili I have ever had - period. I am making it for the company annual chili cook-off and I am very excited to see how I do with it. The flavors that come out with all of the ingredients are so vibrant. It is truly wonderful and will be the new recipe in our household from now on. No more relatively dull chili for us! Try it if you truly want mouthwatering flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was too hot for us, so next time I will tone it down. I used whole can of corn, because I wasn't going to waste. Added a can of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
We loved this! I didn't have the hot chocolate mix or liquid smoke so I compensated with some smoked pepper flakes and sriracha sauce, as well as chopped roasted green chile which is local to us in New Mexico. Taco seasoning is a good substitute for the spices, if needed. I made it a second time using sautéd tofu instead of ground turkey and it still rocked. I love a recipe that is "tweak-able" and works with variations. Thanks Jimbolya, for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Chili was okay, lots of heat but surprisingly bland. Expected much more based on all the fantastic reviews. A lot of ingredients and very involved for a recipe that wasn't better than the chili I already make. Was concerned about the inclusion of "hot chocolate", but (thankfully) you don't taste it at all. I substituted "Club Soda" for Beer because I don't drink and don't like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I didn't have any beer to add. However, I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I love it. So easy, nutrious and excellent flavor. Keeper recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States