Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Great complex flavors. An excellent chili that excites the palate. My very fussy 13 year old who hates "hot food" even loved it. Better the next day when the flavors have had a chance to mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scootir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Wow! This is really good chili. I substituted the habenaro with a large poblano pepper in order to reduce the heat and add an earthy element to the flavor profile. My son has a gluten allergy so I omitted the beer and added two shots of tequila which I believe imparted a wonderful roughness to the background flavors. I didn't have liquid smoke so I diced and sauted two pieces of bacon with the onions and peppers. I didn't add the corn. Served for Christmas lunch to high praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I've made this so many times I've lost count. It's a great recipe. I made a few changes some might find appealing. 1) I substitute two 10-oz cans of habenero green chile tomatoes instead of the regular tomatoes and omit the habenero pepper. I reserve the liquid in case it needs some later. 2) I omit the corn and add one 15.5 oz can of white hominy when I add the beans. 3) I omit the seasoned salt. 4) I cut back just a bit on the liquid smoke. If it's a bit too watery, I make a small cornstarch/water slurry and add it to the chile. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I've become a Thanksgiving legend in my circle of friends for this chili. This stuff is legit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Impressive. I really dislike smoke flavoring and although this was on the verge of being too 'smokey' it turned out really good. The little bit of sweet was such a nice addition. I used a Pam in my pan instead of olive oil. I left out the habenero thinking the kids would be more likely to eat this (which they didn't eat anyway, b/c it was still too spicy) and I had to use salsa instead of tomato sauce as that is all I had. Next time, I will be sure to have everything chopped and/or measured beforehand b/c I feel like a lot of the liquid was simmered away since it was taking me forever to get everything in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Loved this but was super spicy and I didn't even add the habanero! Very tasty though, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is an Excellent chili. My best recommendation - Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I think this is the best chili I've ever had!!! I thought about substituting the turkey with ground beef but decided to try the turkey. It was amazing. I omitted the habenaro peppers and the hot sauce because of my kids. It had just the right amount of kick with the red pepper flakes so I was not disappointed. The hint of sweet from the hot chocolate packet was perfect. Highly recommend this chili on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is the best chili I have ever had - period. I am making it for the company annual chili cook-off and I am very excited to see how I do with it. The flavors that come out with all of the ingredients are so vibrant. It is truly wonderful and will be the new recipe in our household from now on. No more relatively dull chili for us! Try it if you truly want mouthwatering flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was too hot for us, so next time I will tone it down. I used whole can of corn, because I wasn't going to waste. Added a can of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States