Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I was extremely skeptical of adding the cocoa mix. I doubled the recipe but just added cocoa per single recipe. After tasting, I ended up adding the second packet of cocoa.. Delicious!!!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peckville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I will preface this review by acknowledging I am a novice when it comes to cooking. I decided to surprise my wife with a prepared meal and chose this one based on the reviews. Wow!!!! This turkey chili was a home run with the both of us. Easy preparation, great flavors, and not too spicy...I even added an additional habenero. I will keep this one in the recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly except I used 1lb. hot italian sausage and 1lb. grass fed beef. One of the best chilis I've ever made. Next time I'll make sure to have turkey on hand to up the healthy factor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
i wanted to try something different today and was worried half way through b/c all i could taste was "mole".. then reading the reviews comparing this to mole just made it worse.. but once i had let everything simmer for the full 50 minutes it tasted more like chili.. didn't have any habaneros so used 3 baby jalapeno's from our little plant.. seeds/veins and all.. had a nice heat on the end.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Oh wow! I love this chili because I love spicy food. This is by far the spiciest chili I've ever made and I loved every bite. Some recipes sacrifice flavor for spicy, but this recipe had both! I accidentally only purchased one can of the diced tomato and green chilies, but it tasted fine with just one. Next time I'll read the recipe more carefully and try it with two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I have made this chili over and over again for 3 years, I think. My peeps -- friends and family -- LOVE IT. I nix the liquid smoke and 1/2 the Worcestershire sauce (salty stuff). I use 2 onions. I add some (2 TBPS) green chilies (love hot). I trade the habenero for jalapeno. I also use frozed corn at the end instead of canned. I add 2 cans of pinto beans too. Easy to make (somebody commented it was a lot of effort and I completely disagree) and just DELICIOUS! This is how we do chili in my house - awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Amazing recipe! I make as is except I do a jalapeno for the habenero. I make this for our Sunday family dinner and everyone loves this. It doubles well also (We have lots of people on Sunday!). Has that perfect heat level and has some great depth with the hot cocoa and smoke so it's not just hot that you are tasting. Love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFTYJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Amazing! We make this all the time. It's our favorite chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This recipe is SO good. Everyone who tries it loves it, especially my husband (He only learned it was turkey and not beef a week ago, and I've been making it for a year :)). I've made it with jalapenos and no habanero before; it turns out great both ways. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I always tend to use ground turkey in lieu of ground beef - it's healthier. After relentlessly searching I found this. There is NO turning back. The first spoonful is full of flavor - a cornucopia of taste. It truly drags you back for another spoonful. The heat kicks up. But you can't stop. The flavor. It pulls you back in. This chili has done the rotation. My father-in-law requests it during the winter. My pals ask for it when we watch the games on Sunday. The boys ask me to bring it on our hunting trip. Even got rave reviews around the office. The daughter (8) loves it. My dog sits and oogles me as I eat. THE ONE AND ONLY WORK OF CAUTION. You will have "issues" the next day - it has got to be the all the spice - but it if it isn't worth it. With all due respect to Dr. Scoville, we really should rename this, Devil's Revenge Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States