Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I've made this recipe more times than I can count over the years, and it remains a huge favourite in my house. I don't modify it much; sometimes I leave out the beer, if I don't have any on hand, and I substitute the kidney beans for black beans (unfortunately my other half doesn't like kidney beans). I love it the way it is. However I think this recipe would be a cinch to modify to your tastes. I think I'll try adding more veggies and less meat next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
It was the best chili I ever made. My family truly enjoyed it, I made it for a big crowd of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This must be the best chili I've ever made. I took notes from Elfman 42 and made his changes with the red & green bell peppers. It made for a colorful chili! And I only had an expensive beer so that worked fine. The only heat I used was the chili powder and ONE teaspoon of chili flakes. And then used 1 lb ground beef and 1 lb ground turkey. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Great recipe!! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Great recipe. Worked well with ground beef as well. Needed about 1 tablespoonful more chilli powder than stated in the recipe, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenG219
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This one is amazing good. Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The hot cocoa got me all intrigued and I am thankful I gave it a shot. Very good turkey chili! Excellent combination of flavors. I only had jalapeno so used that instead of habanero and omitted liquid smoke because I didn't have any but added extra 1/2 tsp smoked paprika, 1/2 tsp cumin. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Cruzin Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Dee-lish! I usually prefer to leave my chili for 24 hours to let the flavours meld but didn't feel like making two meals tonight so we ate it right away. The beer made it more watery than I like so I added an extra can of kidney beans. My trick is to mash the extra beans up quite a bit first. They really thicken the pot. I wanted to skip making a side salad (must be REALLY lazy tonight!) so I threw in a couple of handfuls of shredded carrot. I'm looking forward to having the leftovers tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Pretty good chilli, I used Blair's ghost pepper for the hot sauce and didn't happen to have any beers left for this. Didn't ad the corn either. Instead of liquid smoke I had smoked chipotle powder and I used cocoa and brown sugar instead of hot chocolate. I'd like to try it using beer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States