Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Awesome! This is the best chili I have ever had, hands down. I actually went out and bought the ingredients I didn't have, so you're not going to read about how I substituted this for that or altered the recipe one bit. It was spicy- the way I like it, extremely hearty, and as a fan of putting healthy spins on traditionally unhealthy meals, very satisfying. You will not be disappointed by the lack of hamburger meat. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Excellent recipe! I made 2 double recipes of chili for my Super Bowl Party...this one and Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili. My preference was this recipe and it was was preferred by the majority (60% - 70% ??) of the guests, although the beef chili was really tasty as well. I prepared both chili's the day before and warmed them in a crockpot for serving the following day. I was leary of the hot chocolate mix, but it was a nice touch. Knowing it was there, I could faintly taste it, but none of the guests could tell. The only alterations I made were to use the chili seasoning mix recipe from this site and to omit the habanero peppers as I didn't want to make it too hot since I was serving a large group with varying tastes. This is going in my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Great recipe that translated well to the crock pot. After sauteing the veggies and meat I transferred to a crock pot, added the rest of the ingredients and simmered overnight. However, even after spending 12 hours in the crock the chocolate tasted exactly like what it was... hot chocolate mix. A better option IMHO would be some Dove chocolate squares or similar. I also added an extra 14 ounce can of tomato sauce as it had more of a gravy feel than I like. I prefer a more tomato based sauce in my chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!Made this for my fiance a few weeks ago, then was upset because I didnt bookmark this. But this is hands down the BEST chili recipe I've ever had!!! Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made this for the first time and the chocolate was overpowering—it tasted sweet! I think my mistake was running out of Worcestire sauce (so I didn't get a full tbsp) and I couldn't get my hands on any liquid smoke. To counteract the chocolate I had to dump in a jar of salsa and try to temper it with extra hot sauce, chili powder, cumin and oregano. I'll try this again with all the ingredients on hand, but use caution with the chocolate and make sure to have enough tomatoes in your pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Excellent flavors! I made this last night as written, tasted it and really liked the heat level, the flavor and the texture. However, knowing my husband prefers a more beans to meat ratio than this recipe provided, I ended up doubling most of the ingredients with the exception of the tomato sauce & habanero (didn't have) and added an extra can of red, cannelli and 2 cans of black beans. Same great flavor as when tasted before doubling and served with grated cheddar and diced sweet onion. Yum! The heat level was perfect, I don't think I would add 2 habaneros when making again. When I told my husband what was in it, specifically the hot chocolate mix and the liquid smoke, he was wowed! This is now in my file box and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Too spicy! The spiciness overpowers the other flavors, which are actually quite interesting. And I substituted a jalapeno for the habanero pepper and left out the pepper sauce completely! When I make this again, I will halve the red pepper flakes and liquid smoke in addition to the other changes I made. By the way, the prep time is far more than 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Fantastic chili and you would never know it is turkey. I cannot wait to make this again and play around with the recipe a little. Maybe some more types beans and another veggie? I also used jalapenos instead of a habenero to bring down the heat just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrglottis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was good but I thought it was going to be like really really spicy. I added an extra habanero & a jalapeno. It was spicy, just was hoping it woulda been hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This chili was incredible! My boyfriend didn't even realize it was turkey and not beef! Melted some cream cheese in at the end and topped with shredded cheddar. Just be careful when chopping and cooking the habanero - it gives off a lot of heat! So yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States