Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
This is the holy grail of chili recipes! DELICIOUS chili with a wonderful, complex depth of flavor. I used jarred sliced jalapenos that I diced up and two cans of RoTel tomatoes with green chilies, two cans of beans because I'm a bean lover and 1/2 tsp smoked paprika in place of the liquid smoke. I also used Hersheys unsweetened cocoa powder(1 oz.) in place of the hot cocoa mix and a little bit of sugar. Next time I make this recipe I will add more cocoa, maybe by half, and see what happens. I do see how the cocoa augments the flavors but I think I could've used a little more. Thank you Jimbolya! Excellent recipe that I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Made it without the beer. Still so great. Add a couple of tablespoons for a great little pick-me-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Greenburg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Skipped the tomato sauce and used black beams instead of kidney beans. Also had no fresh hot peppers so used a sweet red pepper and went heavy on the chili flakes and hot sauce. Tasted wonderful even with the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Limprecht

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Fantastic! I used two jalapenos, one without seeds, instead of a habanero. Gives it a little kick but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Other than subbing a Jalapeño pepper for Habanero and using 1/2 the recommended red pepper flakes - made with exact other ingredients and measurements and I am very happy with the results - spicy, but not whoa and tastes great - thanks for sharing - its a keeper - Happy cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This was excellent . Spicy but not too hot. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Best chili I've had, perfect heat, tastes great with cold beer with a splash of lime, I substituted habanero with jalapeño and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Everyone loves when I make this chili! I sub the habanero for jalapeno peppers, and add a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkle of green onions at the end. I also like to serve over white rice. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Delicious, spicy but not overbearingly so. Next time I will leave the bell pepper and hot sauce out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janee Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
By far my all time favorite chili recipe! I usually cut the recipe in half for my family of four. I do make a few minor changes/omissions. I use grass-fed ground beef instead of ground turkey, gluten free beer, pure cocoa powder, leave out the liquid smoke, habanero pepper and kidney beans since we follow a more traditional Paleo diet. The result is an amazingly flavorful chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States