Smokin' Jack BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Made this recipe as a test run for a grilling competition my husband is in at work. (Winners get $$ donated to the charity of their choice) We will be making 2 gallons of it to use on the pork shoulders he will be smoking! Amazing flavor and sooooo easy to prepare! My kids loved it! Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
We're trying to avoid HFCS so it's very difficult to find bottled BBQ sauce. Well, no need to do that anymore - this recipe is awesome. You can easily adjust the heat and sweet level to suit your taste. I use fresh minced sweet onion and garlic instead of dry. I think it's a little deeper flavor and gives a nice texture to the sauce. Just like the wine I cook with, we use only the whiskey we'd be willing to drink but it's such a small amount that it's totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Great bbq sauce with ribs! Halved the whiskey and used Crown Royal (canadian rye whiskey) instead, and no jalapenos or coriander but a dash of chilli powder, and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Excellent BBQ sauce! I used Hunt's salt-free ketchup and "No Salt" salt substitute in place of the kosher salt to produce a sodium free version (due to high blood pressure problems). I also used minced garlic and minced onion in place of the garlic and onion power to give it some texture. I did have some trouble trying to bring it to a boil over medium heat, air bubbles just kept rising and bursting on top, splattering the stove and wall. I ended up dumping the whole pot into the slow cooker and simmered it in there for 4 hours which worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is a great BBQ sauce! I don't think I will ever buy it again, just make it at home with organic ingredients :) I don't even boil it and it tastes amazing as soon as it is mixed together! I did boil it the first time but it was too long ago for me to compare the taste. So if you don't have time, just mix the ingredients together and you will be happy! Thanks for the great recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Wonderful with only a couple changes to use what I had on hand. Omitted molasses, used 3/4 cup of red wine vinegar and about 3/4 cup of white vinegar. Also, several tablespoons of Franks and 2 additional tablespoons of prepared mustard in addition to dry mustard. Omitted smike. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This BBQ sauce is the Bomb!!!! I have to admit that I don't measure the seasonings just kinda eyeball them (it's an Italian thing) and I just throw a 7 oz can of Chipotles in adobo sauce in the blender with the vinegar and Jack Daniels and blend till smooth! I have used this for Tailgates. on wings, on pulled pork on anything and everything. Every body loves it! Just made a batch for Superbowl Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have made this my go to recipe for BBQ Sauce. No recommendations, it works even if you have to miss something it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very good, Thanks!! Definitely a mega keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is delicious! The chipotle in Adobo sauce made the difference. The whiskey also added great flavor. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States