Smokin' Jack BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Very good. I used tomato sauce instead of ketchup. The BBQ sauce was awesome. I added some cayenne pepper as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I smoked three pork butts, went out on a limb and made this sauce. It was AWESOME. I'll surely keep this recipe as a staple. Everyone loves it! The only thing I changed was the sugar, adding 3/4 cup instead of a full cup. It produced as the perfect blend of ingredients and worked beautifully on pulled pork! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EPHESIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millbrook, Alabama, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I made this recipe after another AR member, What's, for dinner, mom? raved about it. I made it as written using every ingredient listed. The chipotle peppers in adobo sauce really add some kick to the sauce. It gets a little warmer the longer it sits. I used this on 'The Best Baby Back Ribs You'll EVER Eat' a personal recipe of Christina. My DS loves this sauce and has used the leftover sauce on everything, i.e.: brats, hamburgers, baked beans, pork chops. He wants me to make him a batch before going back to college this fall. Thanks BIG CHAD for sharing your recipe. It is a keeper in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Fantastic! I cut the servings down to 10. I used home made ketchup I make for the hubs - no salt and very little sugar. I added 1/2 cup whiskey and used my own brown sugar recipe as well as home made spicy mustard. I added more vinegar to make up for the lack of salt and some tang I like. I skipped the liquid smoke all-together as it sounded excessive and the peppers had plenty of smokiness. I added black pepper and a dash of crushed red. No salt. I will cut the sugar back a bit next time - possibly use apple juice in place of the whiskey just to try it. I cooked it until thick and it darkened up. It is delicious and very spicy - but we like hot. The recipe is amendable and you can taste and adjust along the way. I used on BSCB but think it would be great on ribs or on a pulled pork sandwich. Everyone loved it and will add this to our list of staples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Minnesota_Girl
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Love it, omitted the coriander because I didn't have any on hand. Love the smokiness from the chipotle peppers and liquid smoke. Thanks for sharing, very tasty on my pulled pork sandwich!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
great suace for pulled pork!! nice balance. added a half cup of orange juice for a bit thinner sauce. great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rynosmeatwagon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very good, Thanks!! Definitely a mega keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My only recommendation would be to puree the peppers prior to cooking. Otherwise this sauce is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Thanks for sharing! Absolutely Awesome!!! I think I doubled the brown sugar on accident but I look forward to making it again to find out!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States