Smokin' Jack BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Very good. I used tomato sauce instead of ketchup. The BBQ sauce was awesome. I added some cayenne pepper as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I smoked three pork butts, went out on a limb and made this sauce. It was AWESOME. I'll surely keep this recipe as a staple. Everyone loves it! The only thing I changed was the sugar, adding 3/4 cup instead of a full cup. It produced as the perfect blend of ingredients and worked beautifully on pulled pork! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EPHESIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millbrook, Alabama, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I made this recipe after another AR member, What's, for dinner, mom? raved about it. I made it as written using every ingredient listed. The chipotle peppers in adobo sauce really add some kick to the sauce. It gets a little warmer the longer it sits. I used this on 'The Best Baby Back Ribs You'll EVER Eat' a personal recipe of Christina. My DS loves this sauce and has used the leftover sauce on everything, i.e.: brats, hamburgers, baked beans, pork chops. He wants me to make him a batch before going back to college this fall. Thanks BIG CHAD for sharing your recipe. It is a keeper in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Fantastic! I cut the servings down to 10. I used home made ketchup I make for the hubs - no salt and very little sugar. I added 1/2 cup whiskey and used my own brown sugar recipe as well as home made spicy mustard. I added more vinegar to make up for the lack of salt and some tang I like. I skipped the liquid smoke all-together as it sounded excessive and the peppers had plenty of smokiness. I added black pepper and a dash of crushed red. No salt. I will cut the sugar back a bit next time - possibly use apple juice in place of the whiskey just to try it. I cooked it until thick and it darkened up. It is delicious and very spicy - but we like hot. The recipe is amendable and you can taste and adjust along the way. I used on BSCB but think it would be great on ribs or on a pulled pork sandwich. Everyone loved it and will add this to our list of staples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Minnesota_Girl
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Love it, omitted the coriander because I didn't have any on hand. Love the smokiness from the chipotle peppers and liquid smoke. Thanks for sharing, very tasty on my pulled pork sandwich!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
great suace for pulled pork!! nice balance. added a half cup of orange juice for a bit thinner sauce. great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rynosmeatwagon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very good, Thanks!! Definitely a mega keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My only recommendation would be to puree the peppers prior to cooking. Otherwise this sauce is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Thanks for sharing! Absolutely Awesome!!! I think I doubled the brown sugar on accident but I look forward to making it again to find out!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States