Smokin' Jack BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Wonderful with only a couple changes to use what I had on hand. Omitted molasses, used 3/4 cup of red wine vinegar and about 3/4 cup of white vinegar. Also, several tablespoons of Franks and 2 additional tablespoons of prepared mustard in addition to dry mustard. Omitted smike. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This BBQ sauce is the Bomb!!!! I have to admit that I don't measure the seasonings just kinda eyeball them (it's an Italian thing) and I just throw a 7 oz can of Chipotles in adobo sauce in the blender with the vinegar and Jack Daniels and blend till smooth! I have used this for Tailgates. on wings, on pulled pork on anything and everything. Every body loves it! Just made a batch for Superbowl Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have made this my go to recipe for BBQ Sauce. No recommendations, it works even if you have to miss something it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very good, Thanks!! Definitely a mega keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is delicious! The chipotle in Adobo sauce made the difference. The whiskey also added great flavor. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made this for 10 servings and because I was looking for something not too sweet, made the following adjustments. I first sauteed some onions and then added the sauce ingredients. I used 1 cup tomato sauce and 1.5 cups ketchup. Instead of 2 T of apple cider vinegar, I used 3. I added about 2T freshly chopped garlic. I didn't have molasses or whiskey and used 1.25 tablespoons maple syrup and 1/4 cup apple juice respectively.I also didn't have smoked paprika and just used plain paprika instead. I omitted the brown sugar completely. Plan is to place it in the slow cooker with some ribs overnight. Sauce right now is just a little tangy with some kick, but not overpowering. For those who like it spicy, would recommend adding more adobo chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Made mostly as-is and this is CRAZY good! Used a bit more chipotle peppers for some heat. I've made this 2 ways; 1 using the whiskey, and 1 using 1/2 cup apple juice poured in after it's done cooking. I think we actually liked the juice one better, but they're both fantastic! I simmered the sauce for probably about an hour, and it thickened up well. Important note: 1/2 recipe makes PLENTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Always looking for a great BBQ sauce and I finally found it! So tasty! put it on my pulled pork sandwich and had to have some on the side for dipping. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
We use tomato sauce instead of ketchup to decrease the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My only recommendation would be to puree the peppers prior to cooking. Otherwise this sauce is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States