Smokey's Cat Food (Cold Salmon Spread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made this for Christmas appetizer. Used smoked salmon caught up north by a friend. I used original flavor cream cheese and served with cocktail rye. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This recipe is a keeper! Made a few modifications: used the 14 oz can of pink salmon, 1/2 a small tub of good smoked salmon cream cheese, a few drops liquid smoke, 1 tbsp horseradish, lemon juice and 3 finely chopped green onions. Also added some dried dill, a few shakes worchestershire sauce and a few shakes tabasco. Added a tiny amount of salt. The key is letting it sit in the fridge for at least a couple hours to let the flavors marry a bit. Served on Wasa rye crispbread. I will be making this for all my get-together from now on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
It worked really well for a low-carb snack with some deep-fried low carb tortillas used as a chip. It was maybe a little too fishy tasting for me so if I make it again, I'll try it with regular cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
We made this for our hoomin and she says "nom nom." Thank you Smokey! from whataFRUIT's LOLcats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whataFRUIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flyin_brian95
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Loved it. Had a can of salmon in my cabinet that had been there forever. Didn't really know how to use it, so I tried this. Now if it wasn't for the cost of canned salmon I would be making this all the time. Used two tablespoons of horseradish and regular cream cheese. Omitted the onions and parsley flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I love smoked salmon! This is a nice change from traditional smoked salmon with cream cheese on crackers. I also like the fact that this is a much more reasonable way of getting those flavors. Philly makes a salmon cream cheese in a tub. Although not labeled smoked salmon it does contain smoke in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Good low-carb recipe.. Made with 8 oz. regular cream cheese.. couple of drops of liquid smoke gave it that "smoked salmon" taste.. We ate this on celery and cucumbers.. My husband enjoyed it..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Had no salmon cream cheese on hand, but did have regular cream cheese (whipped) and liquid smoke. I think it would have been delectable had I used less liquid smoke. It was ok otherwise. I gave it a 4 stars based on what I think it would have tasted like with the salmon cream cheese... will update next party opportunity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Yum yum yum! Because I'm pregnant I try to stay away from tuna, and have been trying to find ways to use canned salmon. This is a winner in my book. Next I might try to find a way to make it a salad for a sandwich. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Needing to make a Holiday dip and NOT wanting to go to the store - I made this with some modifications. One can of salmon, 8 oz of regular cream cheese, green onions (4). A squirt of lime juice in plastic lime. Upped the horseradish to 1T and added liquid smoke (to taste). YUMM-YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States