Smokey Tequila-Lime Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I wasn't going to be grilling my chicken, so I didn't use the liquid smoke, but other than that followed exactly; I marinaded the chicken overnight then used it to make jalapeno chicken. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Great marinade! I used minced garlic vs. garlic powder and used this for chicken kabobs. I let this marinate for 8 hours and skewered some red and green peppers, onion, and cherry tomatoes. I grilled this over charcoal and it came out great. I served this with "Lime Cilantro Rice" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
What a great marinade! I used a Mesquite flavored liquid smoke, and cut the lime down a little, as I'm not a huge fan. Also omitted the cilantro for the same reason. We used it for both beef and chicken for a fajita bar - then added a little cornstarch to make a sort of spicy gravy for those that wanted it. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I made this with boneless, skinless chicken breasts. It was very easy to make and was delicious. I also marinated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Reilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Great grilling marinade! Used on chicken breast, marinated for about 6 hours. Love the mixture of the smoke with the tequila. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
My family absolutely LOVED this chicken, it did not even need to be in a taco!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
We put shrimp AND chicken in this marinade for 24 hours, then grilled it for a fajita fiesta at our house. We received numerous compliments and definitely will be making again. Perfect summertime recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I made for a Cards tailgate as tacos. Served with shredded cabbage, pico de gallo and other salsas. Light and fresh tasting.Easy for tailgating.Big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was FANTASTIC. Served it with a mango-avocado salsa (had another side dish in mind, but my kids' bedtime made more cooking...challenging). The salsa turned out to be a great pairing, along with a glass or two of chilled Riesling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is a great base marinade; for chicken wings, I did change it up a little bit. Into a large plastic bag, I minced 5 garlic cloves and a small fresh onion from the garden. Added 1 teaspoon of salt and fresh-cracked black pepper; no cayenne. Added 2 TEASPOONS of liquid smoke, juice from a large lime, 1/4 cup of Patron Tequila, 1/4 cup of extra-virgin olive oil, included the cilantro, and a tablespoon of honey. My dozen chicken wings were whole (with all three parts). Washed, dried & slashed interior to the bone so marinade could get into meat. Added them to the bag, massaging into the wings a few times over 6 hours in the frig. Then I skewered the wings so they were spread out along the metal skewer. Grilled over medium-high heat on a mesquite wood fire, turning now and then for a total of 15 minutes. The wings will tend to flame, due to the oil, so be ready to knock the fire down so skin won't burn. Basted them with the remaining marinade, but NOT the last 5 minutes, as the raw chicken was in that marinade after all. But that last 5 minutes, I sprinkled garlic and onion powder on them. My husband likes things to be hot, so I provided him with a little dish of cayenne and he dipped wings into that, took a bite of wing, then a bite of fresh raw onion. He said this recipe is a keeper! I do believe that high-quality fresh ingredients are the secret to making recipes their very best. Thanks to Dale for submitting this and all the reviewers for your input!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cilantro-Lime Dressing

A tangy dressing that’s perfect with grilled chicken salads.

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States