Smokey Tequila-Lime Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is a great base marinade; for chicken wings, I did change it up a little bit. Into a large plastic bag, I minced 5 garlic cloves and a small fresh onion from the garden. Added 1 teaspoon of salt and fresh-cracked black pepper; no cayenne. Added 2 TEASPOONS of liquid smoke, juice from a large lime, 1/4 cup of Patron Tequila, 1/4 cup of extra-virgin olive oil, included the cilantro, and a tablespoon of honey. My dozen chicken wings were whole (with all three parts). Washed, dried & slashed interior to the bone so marinade could get into meat. Added them to the bag, massaging into the wings a few times over 6 hours in the frig. Then I skewered the wings so they were spread out along the metal skewer. Grilled over medium-high heat on a mesquite wood fire, turning now and then for a total of 15 minutes. The wings will tend to flame, due to the oil, so be ready to knock the fire down so skin won't burn. Basted them with the remaining marinade, but NOT the last 5 minutes, as the raw chicken was in that marinade after all. But that last 5 minutes, I sprinkled garlic and onion powder on them. My husband likes things to be hot, so I provided him with a little dish of cayenne and he dipped wings into that, took a bite of wing, then a bite of fresh raw onion. He said this recipe is a keeper! I do believe that high-quality fresh ingredients are the secret to making recipes their very best. Thanks to Dale for submitting this and all the reviewers for your input!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
a nice marrinade. I didn't have enough cilantro and I missed that part, but the tequilla left a distinct little taste even after grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was FANTASTIC. Served it with a mango-avocado salsa (had another side dish in mind, but my kids' bedtime made more cooking...challenging). The salsa turned out to be a great pairing, along with a glass or two of chilled Riesling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I made for a Cards tailgate as tacos. Served with shredded cabbage, pico de gallo and other salsas. Light and fresh tasting.Easy for tailgating.Big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
All we could taste was the smoke. Next time I think I will add real garlic and real onion and leave the smoke out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
We put shrimp AND chicken in this marinade for 24 hours, then grilled it for a fajita fiesta at our house. We received numerous compliments and definitely will be making again. Perfect summertime recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
My family absolutely LOVED this chicken, it did not even need to be in a taco!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I made this minus the liquid smoke as I did not have any and used fresh garlic vs. the powder. I used it on a pork tenderloin and it was very good. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Great grilling marinade! Used on chicken breast, marinated for about 6 hours. Love the mixture of the smoke with the tequila. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I didn't have any onion powder and used less garlic powder, cayenne pepper and no liquid smoke. I marinated the chicken breasts overnight and they turned out really well! We could taste all of the flavor components except the cilantro, which I'll probably leave out next time. And there will be a next time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cilantro-Lime Dressing

A tangy dressing that’s perfect with grilled chicken salads.

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States