Smokey Tequila-Lime Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This is a nice marinade!! I thought the liquid smoke would be over powering so I cut it back a tad, but I think the whole amount would have been just fine. Used this for chicken kabobs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
great marinade. great with bone in chicken especially. i've been adding some lime zest as well as the juice. easy to adjust the amount of heat with the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Used red pepper flakes rather than black pepper and also added chunks of bell peppers and red onion to marinaded chicken. Yum yum. Cooked on cookie sheet under broiler for 11 minutes and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I wasn't able to marinate the chicken for the full time suggested, but as it grilled I kept brushing more marinade over it. I served it with spicy guacamole smeared on top and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Tasty - went lightly on the liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
We really liked this marinade. I skipped the liquid smoke and added a little bit of cumin. Like others, I used fresh garlic and about half of a small onion. I let the wings marinate about 8 hours then grilled them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I made this last night as a marinade for chicken wings. I took some of the reviewer's comments and used fresh onion and garlic instead of the powders. I also decreased the liquid smoke to 2tsp instead of 2T because I was afraid it would be too smoky and that we wouldn't like it. At first taste of the marinade alone, I didn't like it at all. All I could taste was the tequila. I was afraid to move forward with my dish, but I did anyway. I was pleasantly surprised while grilling them that they looked and smelled amazing. One bite and I was hooked! I will continue to make this and try it with other meats as well. I'm so glad I didn't go with my first impression of the marinade. The alcohol just needed to burn off and what's left is dang good! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Loved it. Next time will try fresh minced garlic and onion in place of powder. Still excellent as written though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe as it is...I thought it was OK but didn't really taste like I wanted. It was way too smokey and light on the lime, tequila and cilantro. I increased the lime juice to around 1/3 to 1/2 cup lime juice, added a TSP of dijon mustard to form an emulsion and did not add salt at all. Hit it with garlic salt just before the grill. I left out the liquid smoke completely. Results of my changes were MUCH better IMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
really good marinade. everyone loved the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cilantro-Lime Dressing

A tangy dressing that’s perfect with grilled chicken salads.

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States