Smokey Chipotle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Love the chance to try a new meatloaf! This one is good. I like spicy and it was certainly that, would imagine it will be a little hot for future reviewers. The oats help keep the loaf on the drier side as I like it not too wet. Looking forward to tomorrow's sandwiches for lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Yum! We really enjoyed this. I agree that the chipotle may be too hot for some, but it was fine for us. You may want to sub part of the chipotle/adobo with smoked paprika to keep the smoky flavor without quite so much "yowza!". Another cool trick for this meatloaf, if youre feeling whiny like I was, is to throw all the ingredients except the meat and oatmeal in the blender, then mix everything together in a stand mixer. No chipotle-onion-meat-hands! Thanks so much for the recipe! (I doubled it - we're getting down with sandwiches tomorrow for lunch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Wow this was awesome! The flavor was great. I added about 1/2 cup of milk to my oats and 1 cup shredded cheese. This makes the meat mixture very wet, but very moist in the end. I baked in a muffin tin for 45 min. Cut up in slices and made meatloaf sandwiches with pepperjack cheese! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This is excellent. One warning for those who love heat - you can overdo it. I used most of a can of chilis with the adobe sauce and it was a bit much. The problem is the can I found was a bit larger than I thought it would be. Two chili's is probably perfect for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is delicious! The only change I made was to bake on a cookie sheet lined with tinfoil. I just shaped it into a loaf and added a tad more BBQ sauce(used Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory & Brown Sugar) to the top because we like it saucey. This came together quickly and has the right amount of spice and heat. This is definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This meatloaf is fabulous! I usually make meatloaf the way my mom taught me, and this was my first new recipe -- so glad I tried it! I used three chipotle peppers instead of two, and I also added some spinch just to fit in an extra veggie. Otherwise I followed the ingredients and directions exactly, and I am blown-away. The spice hits you after your first bite, and it truly is a deep smokey spice. I brought a slice of leftovers to my friend's house, and both her and her roommate demanded I show them where to find the recipe. I also think this would be delicious with ground turkey which I may try next time for a slightly healthier alternative. And if anyone is having a hard time finding the peppers (I sure did!), head for a store with a large Mexican-food section. I traveled to three stores before finally finding them at Walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This is such a good variation for meatloaf! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I would highly recommend this recipe, and to follow it as-directed! I was skeptical about the oats because I had never used them in meatloaf before (though it may be somewhat common) but I was glad I did; the mixture was really wet, but the loaf came out perfectly. Maybe add one extra chipotle pepper if you want some heat; I typically like spicier food but the extra would have taken away from it, in my opinion. As I said, a nice twist on meatloaf! I served it with mashed potatoes and corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
If you really enjoy that smokey flavor there are tons of chipotle recipes on the internet. I take a can of chipotles (undrained) and puree it until smooth. Put it in a small jar and refrigerate. This is called chipotle paste. You can add a teaspoon or so to any recipe to add that smokey taste. I use it in my chicken broth for soups, cook chicken tenders in a mixture of cream cheese and chipotle in my small crockpot, add some to ketchup or your favorite BBQ sauce, make a Denver omelette and add a little before cooking. The possibilities are endless and chipotle paste is a little addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Wow this meatloaf is kick butt! Best I've ever made! Great flavor combination. I did not include the peppers, b/c I have small kids. Just used the adobo juice, and it was just enough spice. I also used bread crumbs instead of oatmeal. I cooked it on a wire rack inside a cookie sheet. It smelled wonderful while cooking & tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
HOLY COW!!! This is absolutely awesome!!! I found this recipe this morning and made it for dinner. My whole family loves it!!! It's so much better than my meatloaf recipe!! This was so easy to make!!! Everybody needs to try this even if you don't like meatloaf you will LOVE this!!! Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States