Smoked Steelhead Trout (Salmon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
smoking times seemed a bit excessive so I used my common sence and cut it back to about 4 hours like it said in the recipe... turned out real good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I've never had Steelhead trout before and it was delicious. I don't know how long my hubby smoked the salmon, but the brine was great and the fish came out perfectly. A couple days in the fridge really brought out the flavors. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Try using pecan hulls in your smoker. I just did a few rainbow trout filets and smoked them using ONLY pecan hulls. They are fantastic and you really get the pecan flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andalusia, Alabama, USA
Living In: Millbrook, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I had to tweak this to our taste and our equipment so if you don't like a tweaker review....please move on :) I like a sweet smoked salmon so I added a half cup of packed dark brown sugar to the brine. I also added 2 teaspoons of liquid smoke cuz I was doing mine in a oven...therefore NO charcoal for smoke. I soaked the salmon in the brine for about 36 hours like my dad used to do. I do not have a smoker, so I put the salmon on a non stick sprayed baking rack over a foil lined shallow pan. (to catch drips) I smoked the 3/4 inch thick salmon fillets in my outdoor oven (set at about 160 degrees) for seven hours. This produced the best rendition of the old fashioned dry smoked salmon that I grew up eating in the Pacific Northwest. Thanks for posting a terrific recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This is fantastic! After letting it rest with the garlic, rosemary I added 4 cups of water with salt for a brine for 20-30 min. only. Right before grilling them on way low with smoke box I rubbed some liquid smoke right on the fish. Restaurant quality
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Thanks Shadows1, I've made this quite a few times and getting ready to make again, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winterlong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
used the pink salmon I caught this morning...Smoked it with apple wood...and used a 1\2 cup of kosher salt mixed with a cup of brown sugar as the curing mixture...my beautiful wife called it the best meal she ever had...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hjmbearfan
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
The fish tasted outstanding! Definitely a keeper. We opted for two fillets totaling 3.25 lbs (they fit better in the small smoker, and we were cooking for a small group so wanted to make sure there was enough fish to go around) and used AllRecipes awesome serving adjuster to help figure out ingredient quantities needed. For us, the fish was finished earlier than expected - about 3 hrs of smoking time. My friend was in charge of the actual smoking and temperature-fiddling process with his recently acquired smoker, so I don't really know the exacts, but I do know that we followed the instructions and temps on the recipe closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States