Smoked Sausage in Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Great recipe, I added minced garlic one extra bullion cube and a little more tomato sauce and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very good basic recipe! Tons of potential. I added canned green beans, along with a bag of frozen bell pepper and onion mix. I substituted regular diced tomatoes for ones with green chilis. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolemo3 :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I did change it quiet a bit, I added bell peppers, diced unions and garlic salt and towards the end I added a splash of red wine. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I thought this was a great basic recipe, and easy. I was looking for something to make with diced tomatoes, smoked sausage, and rice because it was what I had in the house. I browned 14 oz of smoked sausage in 2tbsp butter and 1/2 tbsp minced garlic. I didn't use any tomato sauce so I only added 1/2 cup of water and also only 1/2 lbs of green beans, and mine were frozen. I spiced it up with 1/2 Tbsp basil, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes. Served it over rice, but it would be good over pasta too. It turned out great, the only reason I didn't give it a 5 was because I altered it a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe is fast and has a great flavor! I added some creole seasoning to spice it up a bit and served over rice with a side of green beans. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This recipe is perfect for personalization- I gave it some style by adding zucchini, yellow squash, onion, garlic, extra sauce and water, extra bouillon (I used chicken base, not beef), and a healthy dose of Italian seasonings. Served over mashed potatoes. The outcome was a very tasty 4*, but I'll rate 3* since it required help as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I thought it was good, Mel thought it was too tomato-y See notes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
this is a good basic recipe, and i have made something like it several times before. I omit the pasta sauce, flour and water (since i usually use frozen beans)...ADD 1/4 c chopped onions, 1-2 garlic cloves, 1/2 tsp of thyme, 1/8 tsp chili powder (or to taste), 1/4 tsp cumin, a sprinkling of pepper, and garlic or onion salt to taste. sometimes i'll serve it with a baked potato, but most of the time this is an all in one meal that takes 15 minutes in a pot! my hubby adds hot sauce to it once its in his bowl, but other wise everyone loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I thought this recipe was very tasty, as did my husband. Its not anything gourmet, but definitely very satisfying. I added a can of diced green chiles with the tomatoes, and I think it had a nice flavor. I served it over brown rice with green beans on the side. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astacy12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Sorry, but we really didn't care for this. While cooking, it tasted very bland, and added onion, garlic, salt and other spices just to give the sauce flavor. Not our Cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States