Smoked Sausage and Red Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This turned out to be a "repeat" in my recipes. My whole family loved it, including my teenage son. We didn't have enough room for desert though. When preparing this meal, I overlooked where Syndi stated using a 6 qt. or larger crockpot. My 5.5 qt. fit about half, once I tried to put it all in. So I would divide everything in halves if you don't have a XXL crock pot...Also, I was skeptical about adding uncooked rice, however it turned out fantastic! Make sure to do as the directions say, and stir once everything has had a chance to heat up. My compliments to Syndi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This made a huge quantity even though I more than halved the recipe. I added a tin of tomatoes, 1 green pepper & a chicken stock cube. The rice cooked up well and went almost creamy which was nice but there wasn't a lot of flavour. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I'm giving this 3 stars because my fiance' loved it and I hated it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I'm sorry,but this recipe was not very good. My husband is from the South and he thought it was awful. I unfortunately had to throw most of it out. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
When I submitted this recipe I did not add rice to crockpot!! I always serve my rice on the side!! Cooking the rice with my recipe would deffinetly throw the seasonings off balance!! I made it for a huge get togeather and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
We loved this quick dish. I used brown rice and omit the salt and Cajun and even my children had seconds. It is a regular weekly dish now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was tasty. I cut it down to make 4 servings and added 8 ozs of tomato sauce. Serve over steamed buttery rice instead of adding the rice to the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
When looking up recipes for a massive amount of keilbasa I had smoked in my smoker the day prior. This recipe came up. No photo, so I checked out all the ingredients..right up my alley..But then I normally don't look at the reviews unless it's a low number. With only a few reviews and some being very poor. I saw that the author of the recipe noted that the recipe was wrong. Having looked at that, then back on the ingredients and directions and realized the author said rice on the side. I decided to make it anyway. I used all ingredients and left out the rice. There's no way I could have added rice to my 6 quart slow cooker. NONE! It was filled to the brim. I cooked it on high for 5 hours, and took the lid off for the last hour, I made up a batch of rice in the rice cooker(2 1/2 cups uncooked rice and 3 1/4 cups water, dash of salt) when the rice was done, I added it to my sausage and beans. And served immediately. And my family just absolutely loved it. It wasn't over powering with heat (only 3 shakes of hot pepper sauce). Will make it again. I feel the recipe was intended this way. And not add the rice in the beginning. It would have been awful had I done so. I scooped out a bowl of the sausage and beans before adding the rice for myself and it was awesome with cornbread crumbled right in. YUM!! Hope my advice is taken. Do Not Add The Rice, make a pot seperate and then add at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This recipe was ok. I made it according to the directions adding the rice into the crock pot. I read the reviews prior to making this and wasn't sure whether to do this or not. I would not recommend doing this, make the rice and top with the sausage and beans prior to serving. I did add a can of southwestern style diced tomatoes and green chilies as a couple of people made this suggestion and I think it gave the kick my family likes. I also used Sriracha hot chili sauce instead of hot pepper sauce. I cooked according to the directions and when the meal was done I found it runny and the rice creamy not fluffy like in the picture. Overall the taste was good after extra salt and pepper was added (and extra hot sauce for my guys). I will try this recipe again cooking the rice on the side to see if it's better, if not I think I will look for a different recipe. Sorry it's just ok to us made as is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Great cold weather comfort food, Absolutely loved this recipe, the ony suggestion i have is that if you are not a big fan of beans, which my family is not, use on less can of beans than the recipe calls for. Other than that this was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Snow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States