Smoked Sausage and Red Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Normally, I would cook the rice in with everything, as the recipe states, but since the originator recommends not doing so, I made the rice separate. Browned the sausage first and added a chopped green pepper. Cooked 1lb of (dry) red beans and added to the sausage mixture with about a cup of water. Cooked on the stove top for about an hour. Made brown rice in the water from the cooked beans and ate with the sausage. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I'm always on the lookout for good crock pot meals, as they make life as the mom of two under four much easier! This one caught my eye and I made it for the first time today. It was delicious! I read through the comments first and learned that the recipe was incorrect in saying to add the rice to the crock pot, so I didn't. I did the rice separately in the rice cooker. My husband can't handle much heat, so I cut down a bit on the Cajun seasoning and omitted the hot pepper sauce. I also halved the recipe as my crock pot is not large enough to hold the amount of food this recipe makes. Other than that though, I followed the recipe exactly, and the result was absolutely delicious! I have to admit I was a little leery of adding so much garlic, but it really gave the dish a nice flavor. I served it with cornbread and a salad. Yum! I will definitely be making this again! And I think next time I will go ahead and add the full amount of Cajun seasoning the recipe calls for. Update 2/26/2011: I decided to make this with dry beans today rather than canned. It's cheaper that way, and you avoid nasty preservatives. Prepare the beans according to the package directions (you will need to start them at LEAST 3 hours ahead of time, or you can soak overnight). Once the beans are prepared, you can toss them in the crockpot just as you would canned beans and follow the recipe from there. 1 lb of dry beans is perfect for 1/2 recipe. 2 lbs for full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Great cold weather comfort food, Absolutely loved this recipe, the ony suggestion i have is that if you are not a big fan of beans, which my family is not, use on less can of beans than the recipe calls for. Other than that this was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Snow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This recipe was ok. I made it according to the directions adding the rice into the crock pot. I read the reviews prior to making this and wasn't sure whether to do this or not. I would not recommend doing this, make the rice and top with the sausage and beans prior to serving. I did add a can of southwestern style diced tomatoes and green chilies as a couple of people made this suggestion and I think it gave the kick my family likes. I also used Sriracha hot chili sauce instead of hot pepper sauce. I cooked according to the directions and when the meal was done I found it runny and the rice creamy not fluffy like in the picture. Overall the taste was good after extra salt and pepper was added (and extra hot sauce for my guys). I will try this recipe again cooking the rice on the side to see if it's better, if not I think I will look for a different recipe. Sorry it's just ok to us made as is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
When looking up recipes for a massive amount of keilbasa I had smoked in my smoker the day prior. This recipe came up. No photo, so I checked out all the ingredients..right up my alley..But then I normally don't look at the reviews unless it's a low number. With only a few reviews and some being very poor. I saw that the author of the recipe noted that the recipe was wrong. Having looked at that, then back on the ingredients and directions and realized the author said rice on the side. I decided to make it anyway. I used all ingredients and left out the rice. There's no way I could have added rice to my 6 quart slow cooker. NONE! It was filled to the brim. I cooked it on high for 5 hours, and took the lid off for the last hour, I made up a batch of rice in the rice cooker(2 1/2 cups uncooked rice and 3 1/4 cups water, dash of salt) when the rice was done, I added it to my sausage and beans. And served immediately. And my family just absolutely loved it. It wasn't over powering with heat (only 3 shakes of hot pepper sauce). Will make it again. I feel the recipe was intended this way. And not add the rice in the beginning. It would have been awful had I done so. I scooped out a bowl of the sausage and beans before adding the rice for myself and it was awesome with cornbread crumbled right in. YUM!! Hope my advice is taken. Do Not Add The Rice, make a pot seperate and then add at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was tasty. I cut it down to make 4 servings and added 8 ozs of tomato sauce. Serve over steamed buttery rice instead of adding the rice to the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
We loved this quick dish. I used brown rice and omit the salt and Cajun and even my children had seconds. It is a regular weekly dish now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
When I submitted this recipe I did not add rice to crockpot!! I always serve my rice on the side!! Cooking the rice with my recipe would deffinetly throw the seasonings off balance!! I made it for a huge get togeather and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I'm sorry,but this recipe was not very good. My husband is from the South and he thought it was awful. I unfortunately had to throw most of it out. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I'm giving this 3 stars because my fiance' loved it and I hated it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States