Smoked Sausage and Red Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
The recipe came out great! I used 1 1/3 cup of chicken broth instead of the water,added a green pepper, all I had was a large 40 oz can of red kidney beans, 1 pound of Turkey sausage (sauteed up in about 1/8 cup Worcestershire sauce a long with the onions, garlic and green peppers.just until the meat soaked up the flavor. Also added extra seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Latsch Matheny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is a staple in my home, I love Sausage, Red Beans, and Rice, it is very loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annabisme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This did not turn out for me. However, in the 2 times I made it, we always followed the directions and added the rice to the crockpot. In the reviews section, the author Syndi says she doesn't add the rice to the crockpot. Maybe I will try this again, and change my review afterward, but only if Syndi changes the directions of adding the rice and water to the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Made it, but it seems like it's missing something. But it worked out okay and filled the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Thanks! This had a lot of flavor, surprisingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Smoked Sausage & Red Beans' Haiku: "Not too thrilled with this. (I really didn't change much.) We trashed leftovers." I noticed that the recipe submitter added a review stating that the rice should be cooked separately, which I was relieved to see, b/c I can't imagine leaving rice in the crockpot for that many hrs. So I prepared the recipe as written (save for adding a can of Rotel), and reduced to it 4 servings, having a 1 lb. smoked sausage, and using 1 can of beans. Not really sure why this didn't make our tastebuds do a little jig, b/c normally we annihilate red beans over rice, but perhaps it had something to do w/ the length of time that everything sat in the crockpot. Smelled great, but just didn't do it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars because my hubby and I both thought it was very tasty. I cut the recipe down to 4 servings and only used 1 can of beans. I followed the recipe as written except I did add red and green peppers, because we like them. I waited until the last 5 minutes before serving and added the Minute Rice. It was perfect! Thanks for sharing Syndi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I halved the recipe and we loved it. To halve it, I used a single smoked sausage, 3 cans of dark red kidney beans and a cup of rice to 2 cups water. I also used a tiny amount of the garlic, as a personal preference. But I loaded up on the cajun seasoning lol. We like red beans and rice anyway, as well as smoked sausage. Blending those together along with cajun seasoning made a great meal. Can't have it too often, because of the heartburn factor, but this is definitely a repeat-worthy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was not that good. I did it as is and felt that it was very bland and needed some life. thankfully, I have a husband that will eat dinner no matter what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Normally, I would cook the rice in with everything, as the recipe states, but since the originator recommends not doing so, I made the rice separate. Browned the sausage first and added a chopped green pepper. Cooked 1lb of (dry) red beans and added to the sausage mixture with about a cup of water. Cooked on the stove top for about an hour. Made brown rice in the water from the cooked beans and ate with the sausage. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States