Smoked Sausage and Apple Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
I was really craving something with sauerkraut on a cold, rainy day and this did the trick! Sauerkraut is not usually my favorite, but this was very good. The apples seemed to cut a little bit of the bite of the kraut. I didn't do the cream sauce (didn't have the ingredients on hand) and it turned out very nicely. I also drained and rinsed the kraut to cut the saltiness. I will definately nake this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
My husband loved it. Couldn't find apple brandy, but used apple shnapps; great flavor! I also added some caraway seed, this is a great fall recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly as given. We like all the ingredients and are not picky eaters and enjoy trying different recipes. This one just did not work. Sauce was runny and the flavor was bland. Will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Delicious! My whole family LOVED it! I added 1 cup shredded cabbage to soften the sauerkraut flavor, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was GREAT. Used apple cider (couldn't find brandy). I'm not always a fan of apple/kraut recipes, but this was delicious. Served with mashed potatos, which were great with the cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I took this dish to a pot luck and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I used Spiced Cider in with the cream and pan drippings. Without a thickening agent, sauce didn't look like a gravy but more like curdled milk. I had alot of liquid after baking but maybe I didn't drain the kraut well enough or shouldn't have covered. The flavor was great but my husband thought it needed more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Awesome recipe! Great infusion of flavors! My husband and I totally enjoyed it. I used a low fat smoked sausage and used half & half. I mixed some regular brandy and the juice from a cup of manadarin oranges instead of the apple brandy. I'm adding this to our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I typically like apples and sauerkraut. I made this with a smoked turkey kielbasa. But something didn't work for me - I think it was the cream paired with the vinegar from the kraut. I'll stick to no cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Loved this recipe. I didn't have apple cider/juice/brandy on hand, so I pureed an apple with a couple teaspoons of brown sugar and mixed that in with the cream and drippings. Also, I use milk or 1/2 & 1/2 because that's what I usually have on hand. It's our favorite kraut/apple dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Throgmartin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States