Smoked Sausage and Apple Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Awesome recipe! Great infusion of flavors! My husband and I totally enjoyed it. I used a low fat smoked sausage and used half & half. I mixed some regular brandy and the juice from a cup of manadarin oranges instead of the apple brandy. I'm adding this to our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was GREAT. Used apple cider (couldn't find brandy). I'm not always a fan of apple/kraut recipes, but this was delicious. Served with mashed potatos, which were great with the cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I took this dish to a pot luck and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
My husband loved it. Couldn't find apple brandy, but used apple shnapps; great flavor! I also added some caraway seed, this is a great fall recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Loved this recipe. I didn't have apple cider/juice/brandy on hand, so I pureed an apple with a couple teaspoons of brown sugar and mixed that in with the cream and drippings. Also, I use milk or 1/2 & 1/2 because that's what I usually have on hand. It's our favorite kraut/apple dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
So I didn't have to buy a whole gallon of apple cider I just purchased a small Martinelli's apple and used it. Fantastic flavor all-around! My wife is still raving about it this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Delicious! My whole family LOVED it! I added 1 cup shredded cabbage to soften the sauerkraut flavor, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I was really surprised at the flavor, would definitely make again, but using more sausage for the heartier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
I was really craving something with sauerkraut on a cold, rainy day and this did the trick! Sauerkraut is not usually my favorite, but this was very good. The apples seemed to cut a little bit of the bite of the kraut. I didn't do the cream sauce (didn't have the ingredients on hand) and it turned out very nicely. I also drained and rinsed the kraut to cut the saltiness. I will definately nake this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this. The taste is very bold and kinda tangy we thought, we will definitely make it again. I didn't have the heavy whipping cream so I used half n half instead everything else followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States