Smoked Sausage and Apple Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this. The taste is very bold and kinda tangy we thought, we will definitely make it again. I didn't have the heavy whipping cream so I used half n half instead everything else followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I was really surprised at the flavor, would definitely make again, but using more sausage for the heartier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
So I didn't have to buy a whole gallon of apple cider I just purchased a small Martinelli's apple and used it. Fantastic flavor all-around! My wife is still raving about it this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Didn't like the sweet apples and sour kraut combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Loved this recipe. I didn't have apple cider/juice/brandy on hand, so I pureed an apple with a couple teaspoons of brown sugar and mixed that in with the cream and drippings. Also, I use milk or 1/2 & 1/2 because that's what I usually have on hand. It's our favorite kraut/apple dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I typically like apples and sauerkraut. I made this with a smoked turkey kielbasa. But something didn't work for me - I think it was the cream paired with the vinegar from the kraut. I'll stick to no cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Awesome recipe! Great infusion of flavors! My husband and I totally enjoyed it. I used a low fat smoked sausage and used half & half. I mixed some regular brandy and the juice from a cup of manadarin oranges instead of the apple brandy. I'm adding this to our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I used Spiced Cider in with the cream and pan drippings. Without a thickening agent, sauce didn't look like a gravy but more like curdled milk. I had alot of liquid after baking but maybe I didn't drain the kraut well enough or shouldn't have covered. The flavor was great but my husband thought it needed more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I took this dish to a pot luck and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was GREAT. Used apple cider (couldn't find brandy). I'm not always a fan of apple/kraut recipes, but this was delicious. Served with mashed potatos, which were great with the cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States