Smoked Sausage Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Can't say that we were crazy about this. We thought the smoked turkey sausage tasted more like a frankfurter than what we consider smoked sausage, and that was the biggest disappointment. We eat Hillshire Farm Chicken Hardwood Smoked Sausage which I think comes closer to what I consider traditional smoked sausage (that I just don't eat anymore). Don't really mean to bash Butterball, but I just compared the nutritional info for these two brands, and they're very, very close. This all could be taste preference, but I just didn't care for this sausage, and it's unlikely I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
We really liked this recipe and it's easy to make. I did use sweet onions in place of the green onions and I added in green peppers to the onion saute. I also used fresh tomatoes in place of the sun-dried. I will probably cut back on the cheeses next time, as I think it is just a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I made this for supper tonight and served it with croissants and orange juice. It took a little longer to cook than the instructions said, but it tasted wonderful. The whole family liked it and my husband took the last piece for to work for lunch. So I'd say it's definitely a keeper. I think it would be a great recipe to to take to a breakfast or brunch potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I chopped up the sausage and it seemed like a ton of sausage for this so I only used half and it was the perfect amount for me. I also couldn't find the sun dried tomatoes in my grocery store so I just seeded and chopped up some fresh and squeezed them dry between paper towels. I've been told that the sun dried tomatoes really make this dish. Now here comes the tricky party. I mixed everything together and tossed it in the oven. Then I realized I was supposed to cook a little before doing that. *Sigh* Oh well. Turned out good if you don't mind waiting 1/2 hour - 45 minutes to eat breakfast. Even though this tasted good I really wasn't a fan of the texture and sodium content (as well as a few other ingredients) of the sausage. If I make this again I would leave out the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Loved this. I used a chicken sun dried tomato sausage, left out the oil, added red peppers and used egg whites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I really wanted to like this frittata, but it was just ok for us. I wasn't blown away by the flavor of the smoked turkey sausage and probably won't buy it again. I was a little concerned about the fact that the recipe doesn't call for any salt in the eggs. For those of you who might have this same concern, the cheese and sausage are plenty salty and no extra salt is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I thought this tasted good and I don't typically make frittatas. It seemed to hold together really well, with a little extra cook time. So, I just cooked it the whole time, in the pan, flipping it once using a plate. I made a few changes for preference. When I was chopping the meat and green onion, both seemed like a lot. So, I cut them in half. I am not a fan of fresh basil, so I just subbed two good sized pinches of dry basil. It was going to be cooked anyhow. After I got all of my ingredients out and started the recipe, I realized I forgot the mozzarella cheese! No problem, it still worked out just fine. It did have the parmesan cheese in it. I guess, the only downside is it seemed kind of salty. Not sure if it was from the parmesan cheese, sausage, or both combined together. It would make a fine recipe, though, to recommend to someone looking for brunch recipes. I found it to be very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This frittata is very similar to the quiche that I make. Light and fluffy, it's great with fresh fruit, carrot salad, or on its own. The Butterball Smoked Turkey Dinner Sausage is the perfect compliment to the eggs, cheese, and veggies. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
For some reason our crew doesn't care for the pan-baked fritatta, so my son made this in an 11x14 glass casserole dish (doubled). It was fast, easy, and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States