Smoked Sausage Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
2 thumbs up! I made one change and used turkey kielbasa as my grocery store didn't carry the sausage the recipe called for. We loved the Mediterranean twist on this. I made it in my cast iron skillet and the times listed in the recipe were perfect. This is the best frittata we've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I chopped up the sausage and it seemed like a ton of sausage for this so I only used half and it was the perfect amount for me. I also couldn't find the sun dried tomatoes in my grocery store so I just seeded and chopped up some fresh and squeezed them dry between paper towels. I've been told that the sun dried tomatoes really make this dish. Now here comes the tricky party. I mixed everything together and tossed it in the oven. Then I realized I was supposed to cook a little before doing that. *Sigh* Oh well. Turned out good if you don't mind waiting 1/2 hour - 45 minutes to eat breakfast. Even though this tasted good I really wasn't a fan of the texture and sodium content (as well as a few other ingredients) of the sausage. If I make this again I would leave out the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was better than I'd anticipated! I did make some tweaks, though: I halved the recipe and baked at 400 for 30 min in a glass pie pan, as we don't have an oven safe skillet. I also used fresh tomatoes in place of sun dried and added a diced jalap and some leftover corn that needed used. Fresh basil wasn't available at our grocery store, so I was forced to sub dried. I have to agree with the reviewers who said the "sausage" tasted like hot dogs, though (which kind of worked for me since I'm not a big sausage fan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Loved this. I used a chicken sun dried tomato sausage, left out the oil, added red peppers and used egg whites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
We really enjoyed this, but we love frittatas! I sauteed the sausage until it was on the verge of crispy, and left everything else the same. Be sure you have some orange juice on hand--this is perfect for any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Janet
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I really wanted to like this frittata, but it was just ok for us. I wasn't blown away by the flavor of the smoked turkey sausage and probably won't buy it again. I was a little concerned about the fact that the recipe doesn't call for any salt in the eggs. For those of you who might have this same concern, the cheese and sausage are plenty salty and no extra salt is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Everyone loved it! The only suggestion was to up the sun dried tomato just a little, but it's really great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I thought this tasted good and I don't typically make frittatas. It seemed to hold together really well, with a little extra cook time. So, I just cooked it the whole time, in the pan, flipping it once using a plate. I made a few changes for preference. When I was chopping the meat and green onion, both seemed like a lot. So, I cut them in half. I am not a fan of fresh basil, so I just subbed two good sized pinches of dry basil. It was going to be cooked anyhow. After I got all of my ingredients out and started the recipe, I realized I forgot the mozzarella cheese! No problem, it still worked out just fine. It did have the parmesan cheese in it. I guess, the only downside is it seemed kind of salty. Not sure if it was from the parmesan cheese, sausage, or both combined together. It would make a fine recipe, though, to recommend to someone looking for brunch recipes. I found it to be very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I made this for supper tonight and served it with croissants and orange juice. It took a little longer to cook than the instructions said, but it tasted wonderful. The whole family liked it and my husband took the last piece for to work for lunch. So I'd say it's definitely a keeper. I think it would be a great recipe to to take to a breakfast or brunch potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States