Smoked Salmon and Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I just saw a cooking featuring this sandwich. They used capers and no celery or onion. I like the finly chopped celery and onion mixed in. They served this on thin white square bread with crusts cut off. Then they spread mayo on one edge and dipped in chopped chives to add onion flavor. Very elegant for a brunch item or pile it in a pita, lettuce cups or bread of choice. I used the 4oz package of smoked salmon. Use reg mayo if your not watching calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorybixler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Very good! Served this on browned ciabatta rolls.Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBC150

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
i can only give 3 stars because in the end, i'd rather do the toasted bagel-cream cheese-capers-tomato-lox thing, and not go to all the trouble. this is still easy enough, and a neat way to use smoked salmon. i omitted the onion (can't eat 'em), used maybe a generous 1/2 cup of mayo, 7 eggs, 6 oz smoked salmon, added a tsp of lemon juice and a tbsp or two of capers. i thought this was too much dill, especially since fresh dill is so strong. don't add salt (because the salmon will add enough salt to the flavor.) if you're going to top bread with it - add a slice of tomato. trust me ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Very yummy results! The bulk of the work is in the chopping and dicing and slicing. Add a few dashes of red pepper flakes for a zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Made using canned smoked salmon and sans dill (a spice not readily available in Jeolla Province, S. Korea). Nice break from usual egg salad, and easy to add local flair through other seasonings. recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I am sure this is per our taste but we just did not like the way smoked salmon tasted with the egg. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
My husband loves smoked salmon and since it's often served with diced egg I thought this was a great idea! I added capers and a little prepared mustard (which I always use in egg salad) but it still seemed a little bland. Maybe some lemon juice would work to add a little zing. Bottom line...we ate it on toasted baguette rounds and it was very good but I think it could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I added dill weed to the recipe and also I didn't have an onion on hand so I substituted chive. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This recipe is so unique and delicious. I added a little fresh basil and cut out the red onion and it was fab-u-lous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States