Smoked Salmon and Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This review is based on Hubs' assessment, since salmon is one of the few things I don't care for. When we go out for a nice breakfast he seems to always gravitate toward the salmon plate, which nearly always includes a bagel and cream cheese, chopped hardboiled eggs, red onion and capers. In keeping with that I added a few capers to this egg salad and went light on the mayonnaise. He ate this on crostini - and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I cheated and used canned salmon, about a half cup of chopped green onion instead of red and I added another stalk of celery. I added the mayonnaise 1/4 cup at a time until it was the right consistancy and I did not use the full three tablespoons of dill. That seemed excessive to me. A teaspoon was enough. After tasting it, I also added onion/garlic powder, some fresh ground pepper, a little dijon mustard and some Frank's Hot Sauce. Even with the canned salmon, this was darn tasty. Great thing about sandwich fillings like this is you can adjust it to fit your own personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was so easy and tasted great! I made a few changes based on what I had on hand. I added a chopped red pepper, chopped pickled banana peppers, celery and a little bit of white onion. I also used less mayo and added about a teaspoon of lemon juice. Unfortunately, I didn't have fresh dill, but next time I will definitely get fresh dill for this. I didn't add salt either since the lox I used was pretty salty already. Thanks for idea Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
yummers!!! I used half the mayo and added plain yogurt and some wilted spinach. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I'm sorry, we did not care for this. The smoked salmon completely overwhelmed the egg salad. We love smoked salmon and we love egg salad but the combination was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I liked this one but ended up doing a bit of variation due to lack of ingredients and being too lazy to go to the grocery store :) I used 3 green onions instead of the red onion, sesame seed, and a little soy sauce. It is delicious. I think this recipe is a great starting point for a lot of great flavor combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kesih

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riner, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I was disappointed in this recipe after the great reviews it got. Maybe my expectations were too high, but I would have rather had plain egg salad or a regular tuna sandwich. It tasted like an unsatisfying blend of the two. My husband liked it but he's very kind and will eat almost anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was an incredible recipe... i wasn't sure at first, but my whole family loved it and since i have chickens with fresh eggs all the time, the family is somewhat bored with most egg recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitehouse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
OK, I had two dozen eggs not an idea what to do with them. WOW what a great idea. I ommitted the onion, DH does not do onions, used canned salmon, 6 oz , used 11 eggs, and dried dill about 3 tbsp.....delicious, can't wait to do it again, won't last long in my fridge:) OH - and the easiest way I found to do the eggs cutting : A fork, smash smash smash- fast easy, in the same bowl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homies_cookin_mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Made as directed. there is too much onion in this. it overpowers the taste of everything else. you can't even tell there is salmon in it, due to the onion. i would only use 1/2 onion at the most. otherwise i think everything else balanced out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squashes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States