Smoked Salmon Vodka Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Of course it tastes fishy. Salmon is fish. Duh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieliseCanada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Absolutely sensational, what a delicious and impressive dish. And the best part of this recipe is it's 10 minutes from start to finish! I used about 1/3 of a medium onion, and a 4oz block of black peppered salmon. I also used Absolut Peppar Vodka, and an entire 8 oz can of tomato sauce. Just added cream until the right blush appeared, about 1/3 cup. A light sprinkle of cayenne, and viola! Great recipe, fatima, sincere thanks for sharing with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I quadrupled the recipe, though I added only about 4 oz of vodka (I was a little nervous about a whole cup) and this was AMAZING. The absolute best vodka sauce recipe I've ever had. Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Really good but needs a pinch of sugar I think. Used a crappy jarred tomato sauce and it was fine. Halved the sauce since it makes so much and it was perfect. Topped it with a spoonful of Parmesan. Loved the heat from the cayenne. Made it two nights in a row and liked the smoked salmon much better when I tossed it in the sauce right before tossing its the pasta. It didn't overcook end maintained more of its smoked-salmony flavor that way. Though the whipping cream was a bit heavy, will use half and half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
As suggested, double the sauce. I added garlic and more onions and sauted them until soft before adding the vodka. The cayenne pepper is essential. It adds the warmth the sauce needs. Be careful adding any salt because the salmon will likely impart enough salty flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I made this tonight for dinner and we really enjoyed it. I doubled everythiing; even tho there are just 2 of us and am gald; now we have left overs for lunch tomorrow. We really liked it. Only change was I used a can of Fire-Rasted Chopped tomatoes, not fresh tomatoes; and extra half and half. Great, will make again. OH, served over spaghatti noodles -thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
a little bland. Needs something else. We all added red pepper flakes and liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I loved it, but my husband did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This makes a quick, rich and elegant entree. After reading reviews I took some hints. For four servings, I doubled recipe and sauteed two cloves of garlic with the onions and salmon. Didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used drained, canned diced tomatoes. Be sure to use a good quality vodka in this recipe, it makes a big difference (per America's Test Kitchen), don't go cheap! After cooking onions to opaque I increased heat to light smoking and then added vodka (Three Olives). Simmered sauce while 2 cups, dry, of Farfalle pasta was cooking. Forgot the cayenne pepper so I'll add it next time but 1 Tbsp. looks excessive to me. Will add a bit at a time to taste next time. My smoked salmon from Ward Cove, AK was not too salty so I added 1/4 tsp. salt. I served this dish with a pear/gorgonzola salad with sweet & sour dressing and toasted garlic bread. My husband and I both enjoyed the pasta very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States