Smoked Salmon Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Wonderful recipe! Our variation: We like to add 3 tablespoons brown sugar and 1 teaspoon salt to the rice vinegar and stir until dissolved. Then pour the mixuture over rice and mix well. This compliments the flavors of the sushi roll very well and makes the rices easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Very good--soak avocado in lemon juice and sprinkle cut ends with lemon juice to prevent browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I found this an easy to follow recipe. I did not have a bamboo mat, but had no trouble rolling my sushi with some wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I was impressed by how easy these were to prepare and how well they turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Make sure not to skimp on the fillings or it will taste very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
These turned out good considering I have never made sushi before. I did search the Internet for tips on rolling. If I was ever to make sushi again, this would be the recipe I would use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I make this recipe often with a few variations: 1.as others have suggested, I add sugar to the rice mix 2.I don't use as much rice per roll as shown in the picture, it's too much 3.I sometimes substitute very fresh tuna for the salmon 4. I add thinly sliced scallions to the cuke / avocado. I love this served with a sweet soy dipping sauce containing 3T soy, 2T sake or sherry, 1T brown sugar and a sprinkling of sesame seeds! Another good dip for those who like chilli is to use 4T soy, 1T rice vinegar, dash of hot chilli oil and some red pepper flakes. LOVELY!!!! Finally, use wet hands when rolling, use a bamboo mat for best results and use a wet knife for slicing. Happy sushi making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nic in the UK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
A tip I learned from some Korean friends... when cutting the nori use a sharp blade dipped in water, it will make the knife slide right through instead of tearing the nori. Re-wet for each slice or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This was great. It took me a little bit to get the hang of how much filling to use. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I actually recommend using the rice recipe from "Sushi Roll" from this site- it includes sugar, which I think really helps the flavor of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States