Smoked Salmon Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Loved it and substituted just about everything. Had only arborio rice, but prepped and cooked it as per these directions including a 4-5 hour soak and a few drains. I had about 4oz of leftover grilled salmon (not enough to feed our family of 4) so I tried this recipe. Glad I did. I spread the rice as thinly as possible, yet covering most of the nori surface except the top 1/2", then sprinkled some ground ginger over the rice. On half of the rolls, I used about 1T guacamole and some wasabi. On the other half I used wasabi & capers that I squished between my fingers before dotting onto the rice, about 10 capers per sheet. Added the salmon, wet the top of the nori and rolled them up with a bamboo sushi roller. The sharp meat knife I used, sliced through them perfectly! Delicious. THanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Spalding

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very easy and tasty recipe, great as an appetizer or even as dinner if you make more of them (I find about 6-8 per diner is a good number). One word of caution: spring for good sushi-grade nori, available at most Asian groceries. The cheaper stuff has a slightly sealike taste that, combined with the smoked salmon, makes the finished roll way too fishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I think once I get the hang of rolling these I'll be able to give it a 5-star rating! I did alright, but there's a lot of room for improvement! My sushi-loving family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
awesome recipe for beginners, I personally thought it could use more flavor, but I enjoyed them along with my husband and 2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
The amount of rice vinegar was good, but I found the need to add some sugar to cut the acidity of the rice. Otherwise, it is an excellent recipe. As a note, you will want a VERY sharp knife to cut the sushi into individual pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
6 tablespoons of rice vinegar are way too much, 2 are enough. I omited wasabi. Also this recipe definetely needs cream cheese and sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
My Korean friend taught me that you can keep cooked sushi rice in the fridge for up to 5 days for easy to grab and roll nights. She keeps it in a large ziplock with the air squeezed out and then just warms it slightly in the microwave and sprinkles and mixes in a little bit of sesame oil. Roll away!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This recipe is the BEST!!! It came out perfect!!! Except instead of rice I used risotto. Also instead of vinegar I used tomato paste with a little bit of basil. I forwent the smoked salmon and substituted it with italian sausage and in place of nori I used a bowl. I will be using this recipe again and again! Five stars across the board!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I'm just learning to make sushi and this recipe seemed easy enough. And it was easy! Thank you! I made the recipe as it calls for and the taste was very good. My husband is filipino and has eaten a lot of sushi. He said mine was very good for the first time :) If you are starting to make sushi, definitely try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
looks good just have to try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States