Smoked Salmon Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Just made it for a party tomorrow and it tastes pretty darn good! Can't wait to try it after the flavors meld. Totally agree with all the suggestions: Added lemon juice (a must!), added sour cream to make it creamier, I added more of all the seasonings and more of the hot sauce. Next time I'll add a few capers. I plan on serving them separately this time. Happy holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Very elegant, I served this as a spread for bagels for a back to school brunch I had for my kids! I loved all the flavors and the fresh herbs and I added a splash of fresh squeezed lemon juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Yum! I used dried dill, and had to estimate the amount of salmon because it was not from the store, but home smoked. Most certainly refrigerate for a few hours. I tasted it before and after. It was waaaay better after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I really like this spread and it's always a hit at parties for those who like salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austinburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Excellent. Used a 10 oz. salmon filet that I hickory smoked myself. Added a couple of extra drops of hot sauce and used dried dill because I didn't have fresh. Everyone loved it and I'll definitely be adding a salmon filet to the smoker every time I fire it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Excellent. The flavor was wonderful especially with the fresh ill. It is a keeper. By the way make it more economical, use the tub of salmon bits. No one will know the difference. Great spread for company. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is always a big hit. I leave out the hot pepper sauce, but add the juice of 1 lemon. Thin it with sour cream and/or milk to get the fluffy consistency I want. And refrigerate at least a few hours (or better yet, overnight) to meld the flavors. And I agree that using good quality smoked salmon is important (we like Tony's, which is quite available in Portland OR. It's not expensive, but very good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Made this for Thanksgiving yesterday. It turned out okay, but not great. I won't make it again. I did change the recipe a little as I almost always do, so maybe that was part of the problem. I used 1 pk cream cheese and 1 bag of smoked salmon (by Chicken of the Sea, I think, which can make a good dip as I've mixed it with other stuff before), dried dill, green onion and Worcestershire. I thought it seemed overly "fishy", and I did add a little more cream cheese after it was mixed to make it less smokey. I tried it again today (next day), and it was still too smokey and fishy. My mom thought it smelled terrible. I usually mix this salmon with some mayo, whatever cheese on hand (usually fresh parm - not the canned stuff!!) and dill, and it's pretty good on crackers. I think I'll stick with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORSFRIEND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
very nice! it was a little too cheesy and thick for me also so I added 1/2 cup L/F sour cream and 1 tbsp mayo...fluffed up nicely and still kept its flavor (we smoke our own coho so that's important to me). I used organic cream cheese so that might account for the extra thickness. Also subbed shallots for green onion. Nice base recipe to experiment with or as a good standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CABRUNKOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
1)I recommend using smoked Sockeye Salmon. I tried a less quality salmon and it was quite fishy and bland tasting. I switched back to Sockeye and it was 100% better. 2)Chives in lieu of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States