Smoked Salmon Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was really yummy. Made just as written and loved it. Even DH liked it and he is not a smoked salmon fan. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Just made it for a party tomorrow and it tastes pretty darn good! Can't wait to try it after the flavors meld. Totally agree with all the suggestions: Added lemon juice (a must!), added sour cream to make it creamier, I added more of all the seasonings and more of the hot sauce. Next time I'll add a few capers. I plan on serving them separately this time. Happy holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Very elegant, I served this as a spread for bagels for a back to school brunch I had for my kids! I loved all the flavors and the fresh herbs and I added a splash of fresh squeezed lemon juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Yum! I used dried dill, and had to estimate the amount of salmon because it was not from the store, but home smoked. Most certainly refrigerate for a few hours. I tasted it before and after. It was waaaay better after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I really like this spread and it's always a hit at parties for those who like salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austinburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Excellent. Used a 10 oz. salmon filet that I hickory smoked myself. Added a couple of extra drops of hot sauce and used dried dill because I didn't have fresh. Everyone loved it and I'll definitely be adding a salmon filet to the smoker every time I fire it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Excellent. The flavor was wonderful especially with the fresh ill. It is a keeper. By the way make it more economical, use the tub of salmon bits. No one will know the difference. Great spread for company. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcelle Malillo Maggio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is always a big hit. I leave out the hot pepper sauce, but add the juice of 1 lemon. Thin it with sour cream and/or milk to get the fluffy consistency I want. And refrigerate at least a few hours (or better yet, overnight) to meld the flavors. And I agree that using good quality smoked salmon is important (we like Tony's, which is quite available in Portland OR. It's not expensive, but very good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Made this for Thanksgiving yesterday. It turned out okay, but not great. I won't make it again. I did change the recipe a little as I almost always do, so maybe that was part of the problem. I used 1 pk cream cheese and 1 bag of smoked salmon (by Chicken of the Sea, I think, which can make a good dip as I've mixed it with other stuff before), dried dill, green onion and Worcestershire. I thought it seemed overly "fishy", and I did add a little more cream cheese after it was mixed to make it less smokey. I tried it again today (next day), and it was still too smokey and fishy. My mom thought it smelled terrible. I usually mix this salmon with some mayo, whatever cheese on hand (usually fresh parm - not the canned stuff!!) and dill, and it's pretty good on crackers. I think I'll stick with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORSFRIEND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
very nice! it was a little too cheesy and thick for me also so I added 1/2 cup L/F sour cream and 1 tbsp mayo...fluffed up nicely and still kept its flavor (we smoke our own coho so that's important to me). I used organic cream cheese so that might account for the extra thickness. Also subbed shallots for green onion. Nice base recipe to experiment with or as a good standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CABRUNKOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States