Smoked Salmon Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I love this recipe. I used my own pasta recipe (2 eggs, 1tbsp olive oil, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose flour - which I doubled for this recipe). I used a food processor to mix and knead the dough and then let sit for at least one hour. For the salmon mousse, I tried to follow the recipe as closely as possible but I did substitute Fat Free Evaporated Milk for the cream. Nevertheless, it turned out delicious!! If you are using fresh pasta dough, it is sticky enough to seal the ravioli closed especially if you press the edges closed with a fork - brushing with beaten egg just makes a sticky mess, especially if you are storing the ravioli in the fridge for a while. Also, I only used about 3/4 of the mousse before I ran out of pasta. I also noticed that, if there was a break in the ravioli dough, that the smoked salmon mousse did not leak out at all - it cooks beautifully inside the pasta and stays in!! Next time I will NOT seal the ravioli with egg, I will make more dough and I will roll the dough even thinner. I would not hesitate to use the Fat Free Evaporated Milk again either. Finally, after draining the ravioli, I brushed with a little olive oil and sprinkled a little shredded Italian cheese over and served hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
It was easy to prepare and delicious. I did some changes. First, I used a different dough. Hudgson Mill has a pasta flour (a mix of semolina and durum ). At the back of the box there is a pasta recipe and it turns out very nice. Anyway, that dough worked very well but you will need to double that recipe for 1 lb of salmon, or vice versa. I substituted cream with half amount milk, I think it made the mousse lighter (in terms of fat). After all we enjoyed it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This is a wonderful alternative to the traditional cheese or meat ravioli. I made this recipe with out altering it. It was incredible. I come from a large Sicilian family and doubled the recipe everyone was more than pleased that night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
The Guyere cheese sauce is excellent but the salmon mousse came out runny (recommend less cream or more salmon). Overall very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This was a delicious recipe; although it was extremely rich, so pair it with a really light side dish or salad. I was short on time so I used wonton wrappers for the dough, which worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Fantastic. I had to make much more pasta dough than the recipe called for, which probably means my pasta was too thick. It was still great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This was good, but had a few things that compromised the dish overall. First of all, the pasta was awfully stiff, perhaps I didn't roll it thin enough, but I think there may be better pasta dough recipes available that would be worth a try. It is also a lot of work to make this recipe. The final product is very pretty, but very, very rich. I had an enormous amount of the smoked salmon mousse left over so I think I'll use it to stuff some pasta shells or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Oh soooo goooood. It was fun to make the ravioli from scratch. And the smoked salmon was perfect. This is very filling so just add a salad for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was OUTSTANDING!! Every bite was incredible!!! I didn't have time to make the pasta so I bought lasagna sheets, they didn't stick very well so next time I will make the pasta. After filling the pasta, we sauteed the sauce on the stove with the ravilois instead of broiling. One of the best I have EVER had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I did not care for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States