Smoked Salmon Pesto Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This recipe is great! Although I changed a few things... First of all, I grilled salmon filets last night in an orange juice, soy sauce and ginger marinade. I used the leftovers in this dish (rather than smoked salmon). I also used Prego tomato sauce with sausage rather than the tomato paste. I didn't have any onion (unfortunately, because I LOVE onion) so I omitted the onion. I used more pesto than called for and no basil or garlic because the pesto sauce had plenty of both. I added a can of chopped tomatoes and a can of green peas (just because I love them) in with the freshly sliced mushrooms and sauteed them all in olive oil. I then mixed all of the ingredients together (including the pasta and the salmon) in a pot then heated it all on a burner. The turn out? DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
To make sure that this dish turns out delicious, you need to use a good quality pesto, or one you know you like, as it really makes a lot of difference! I did make slight changes to this recipe: I used rucola, added a dash of white wine, added porcini mushroom, and used half the salmon uncooked, the color looks prettier, and it also tastes different. (I used the thin salmon slices used to put on bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This was GREAT! I used a low carb penne pasta. The only thing I changed was the amount of smoked salmon. I doubled the amt. called for. At my grocery they sell smoked salmon tidbit for $5/lb. They come packaged from the same company making the $16 a pound. This is be my new favorite dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This is a really tasty dish and it takes no time to make. Also, if you don't liked smoked salmon, you could substitute any kind of salmon. We grilled and then added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
the idea of smoked salmon and pesto totally intrigued me, so i had to give it a go. first time we made it as printed with the exception of doubling the amount of salmon, tasted it, and decided to add a sprinkling of lemon juice and a couple of dashes of tabasco. That helped a lot, but 2nd time round we also replaced the water with white wine, and that turned out to be the prefect combination. will definitely be making again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Very, very good and simple to make. Next time I'm adding dry white wine instead of water, plus a smidge of fresh-ground pepper and some pine nuts. I used fiori (flower shapes) instead of spaghetti because that's what I had on hand -- I too would use ziti next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3seadogs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This dish looked bad, smelled bad and tasted awful. The mix of tomato paste and pesto resulted in a brown unappetizing sauce. My husband and I ate it because we had nothing else but we threw out the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I served this dish for company that we had who are picky eaters. We all loved it, even my three children! It was quick and easy to make, and full of wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I liked this....a healthy change from the tomato cream sauce I usually make with smoked salmon. Used homemade pesto, added some chopped sun dried tomato and served over whole grain rotini. With a glass of sauvignon blanc it was a delectable meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by papaduck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I had to modify this recipe to give it a 4 stars...I used an entire pkg of smoked salmon. 5 oz is just not enough. The sauce was very thick, so I needed to use 2/3 cup water and 1/2 cup white wine. The end result is a very bold taste. So, if you're looking for a recipe with delicate mild flavours, this is not the recipe for you. My husband and I both really love smoked salmon and pesto, so that's why it's a 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States