Smoked Salmon Pesto Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I'm not sure why everyone loves this. I like smoked salmon. I got a package of it from Costco and used that. I made homemade pesto and it tasted good by itself. The smoked salmon, however, was extremely salty and the rest of the sauce was bland. I couldn't taste very well the onion, garlic, basil, or tomato! I did have to use tomato sauce instead of tomato paste but is that what really did it? I read another reviewer did that also and still loved the recipe. My husband really didn't like it, and I just thought it was OK .. very boring and the smoke flavor was way too strong, overpowering everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnoblett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Very good recipe. The only thing is that I kept some pasta water aside because I had a feeling the pesto would be too thick, and I was right. I ended up using a full cup of water. I also used bowtie pasta and mixed it all together in a big bowl. It turned out great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I liked this....a healthy change from the tomato cream sauce I usually make with smoked salmon. Used homemade pesto, added some chopped sun dried tomato and served over whole grain rotini. With a glass of sauvignon blanc it was a delectable meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by papaduck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Ok so Husband's a big eater, and I made it just for him with a medium-sized salmon steak, but 5oz of salmon for 4 servings? Eight ounces of pasta? Those are pixie portions! I seared the salmon on both sides in olive oil in a skillet but kept the rest of the ingredient proportions the same. It turned out very fillings and delicious. Maybe if you made it as written but included a green salad and some crusty bread, it would be ok. Otherwise, my dude would have been starving hungry. Thanks though. He enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Yummy!! This one made it into our rotating dinners! I'm going to feature it on my blog tomorrow...check it out! http://Mamakatslosinit.blogspot.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets in the nude
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
the idea of smoked salmon and pesto totally intrigued me, so i had to give it a go. first time we made it as printed with the exception of doubling the amount of salmon, tasted it, and decided to add a sprinkling of lemon juice and a couple of dashes of tabasco. That helped a lot, but 2nd time round we also replaced the water with white wine, and that turned out to be the prefect combination. will definitely be making again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
so simple, yet so delicious, right through to the last mouthful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
this was really amazing! so nutritious and tasty. i suggest adding some lemon juice and a little tabasco sauce.. gives it that something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This was great! I love the fact that it really only did take about 15-20 minutes to cook up everything. We ended up using baby portabello's and a bit more garlic. I added 1/4 cup dry white wine and instead of tomato paste, I put 1/2 can of basil diced tomatoes and added paprika toward the end of the frying to add some spice (It really helped). Overall, a fantastic dish we will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K23KoR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States