Smoked Salmon Pesto Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Very, very good and simple to make. Next time I'm adding dry white wine instead of water, plus a smidge of fresh-ground pepper and some pine nuts. I used fiori (flower shapes) instead of spaghetti because that's what I had on hand -- I too would use ziti next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3seadogs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I'm a college student and on a budget so we did without the tomato paste, fresh basil, and only used half of an onion. It turned out amazing! Instead of tomato paste, we diced up heirloom tomatoes and added them right before serving. I think it would be better over ziti or penne, so that everything can be enjoyed in one bite. But otherwise, delicious! mahalo nui loa for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I served this with plain Yogurt. Lovely! Smelled kind of fishy but my family all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mina t

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
To make sure that this dish turns out delicious, you need to use a good quality pesto, or one you know you like, as it really makes a lot of difference! I did make slight changes to this recipe: I used rucola, added a dash of white wine, added porcini mushroom, and used half the salmon uncooked, the color looks prettier, and it also tastes different. (I used the thin salmon slices used to put on bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This was GREAT! I used a low carb penne pasta. The only thing I changed was the amount of smoked salmon. I doubled the amt. called for. At my grocery they sell smoked salmon tidbit for $5/lb. They come packaged from the same company making the $16 a pound. This is be my new favorite dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is a delicious recipe! I messed up the quantities when making pesto and it turned out a little watered out so I added a vegetable stock cube for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This recipe is great! Although I changed a few things... First of all, I grilled salmon filets last night in an orange juice, soy sauce and ginger marinade. I used the leftovers in this dish (rather than smoked salmon). I also used Prego tomato sauce with sausage rather than the tomato paste. I didn't have any onion (unfortunately, because I LOVE onion) so I omitted the onion. I used more pesto than called for and no basil or garlic because the pesto sauce had plenty of both. I added a can of chopped tomatoes and a can of green peas (just because I love them) in with the freshly sliced mushrooms and sauteed them all in olive oil. I then mixed all of the ingredients together (including the pasta and the salmon) in a pot then heated it all on a burner. The turn out? DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This dish looked bad, smelled bad and tasted awful. The mix of tomato paste and pesto resulted in a brown unappetizing sauce. My husband and I ate it because we had nothing else but we threw out the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I served this dish for company that we had who are picky eaters. We all loved it, even my three children! It was quick and easy to make, and full of wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This is a really tasty dish and it takes no time to make. Also, if you don't liked smoked salmon, you could substitute any kind of salmon. We grilled and then added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States