Smoked Salmon Pesto Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I'm not sure why everyone loves this. I like smoked salmon. I got a package of it from Costco and used that. I made homemade pesto and it tasted good by itself. The smoked salmon, however, was extremely salty and the rest of the sauce was bland. I couldn't taste very well the onion, garlic, basil, or tomato! I did have to use tomato sauce instead of tomato paste but is that what really did it? I read another reviewer did that also and still loved the recipe. My husband really didn't like it, and I just thought it was OK .. very boring and the smoke flavor was way too strong, overpowering everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnoblett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Very good recipe. The only thing is that I kept some pasta water aside because I had a feeling the pesto would be too thick, and I was right. I ended up using a full cup of water. I also used bowtie pasta and mixed it all together in a big bowl. It turned out great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I liked this....a healthy change from the tomato cream sauce I usually make with smoked salmon. Used homemade pesto, added some chopped sun dried tomato and served over whole grain rotini. With a glass of sauvignon blanc it was a delectable meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by papaduck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Ok so Husband's a big eater, and I made it just for him with a medium-sized salmon steak, but 5oz of salmon for 4 servings? Eight ounces of pasta? Those are pixie portions! I seared the salmon on both sides in olive oil in a skillet but kept the rest of the ingredient proportions the same. It turned out very fillings and delicious. Maybe if you made it as written but included a green salad and some crusty bread, it would be ok. Otherwise, my dude would have been starving hungry. Thanks though. He enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Yummy!! This one made it into our rotating dinners! I'm going to feature it on my blog tomorrow...check it out! http://Mamakatslosinit.blogspot.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets in the nude
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
the idea of smoked salmon and pesto totally intrigued me, so i had to give it a go. first time we made it as printed with the exception of doubling the amount of salmon, tasted it, and decided to add a sprinkling of lemon juice and a couple of dashes of tabasco. That helped a lot, but 2nd time round we also replaced the water with white wine, and that turned out to be the prefect combination. will definitely be making again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
so simple, yet so delicious, right through to the last mouthful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
this was really amazing! so nutritious and tasty. i suggest adding some lemon juice and a little tabasco sauce.. gives it that something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This was great! I love the fact that it really only did take about 15-20 minutes to cook up everything. We ended up using baby portabello's and a bit more garlic. I added 1/4 cup dry white wine and instead of tomato paste, I put 1/2 can of basil diced tomatoes and added paprika toward the end of the frying to add some spice (It really helped). Overall, a fantastic dish we will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K23KoR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States