Smoked Salmon Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Oh my gosh, this stuff is delicious! I've made it several times, but this last time we made it with some salmon that my boyfriend made and it was pure heaven. He brined it for 12 hours, dried it for 5 and then smoked it for 8... the quality of salmon used is super important. Oh, do use FRESH dill (and plenty of it)-it makes a huge difference! I like a bit more lemon juice in mine too. I could eat it every day. It is so impressive and incredibly simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this for New Years Eve. Everyone LOVED it! It was the first thing gone! I left out the dill and roe (because I didn't have any) and added a dash of Old Bay and a dash of onion powder and a little extra cream. I didn't put any salt or pepper either. I served it with several types of crackers and toast, cucumber slices, and capers on the side. It was great! I will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Very tasty, though I swapped the cream for natural yoghurt, less fat, and it was perfect. I am repeatedly asked for this recipe at parties and B.B.Q's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Adams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Very good. I prepared the mousse as directed and piped in to phyllo cups as other reviewers suggested. I topped 1/2 with a few capers and the other half with fresh chopped dill. Very elegant presentation and so eary and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I just made this for a New Years Eve party. It is important to note that you really need to use GOOD smoked salmon for this dish. I used some from the supermarket (pre-wrapped) and it is SO salty and incredibly oaky (bc it was smoked on a wooden plank of some sort). I used every tip from these reviews that I could find and threw in an extra 4 oz of cream cheese, 1 clove of garlic, some worcestershire, and tons of fresh dill. It's still not great but I will give it 4 stars because with good lox I imagine it would be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
It was pretty good, but I think I have made better salmon mousse. Sort of blah. Don't add salt, I only added a little and it was too salty. Maybe it was the smoked salmon I bought? I bought Scottish smoked salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very good! Based on other reviews, I reduced the cream cheese a bit for more smoked salmon flavor, added a bit of horseradish, left out the roe and instead of going out to buy heavy cream, used a splash of whole milk. Just small tweaks on a great recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I'm 8 months pregnant & I've been craving salmon mousse from a local restaurant that folded. This is not the same recipe... it's better! I used fresh dill from my herb garden and packaged lemon juice because it's what I had on hand. I will defiantly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Easiest and best tasting recipe I have found for salmon mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Easy, fast and tasty! win win win
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States