Smoked Salmon Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nikki
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I used red pepper instead of black olives, and ditched the heavy cream doubling the milk. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I substituted red onions, sliced in rings for extra color. Instead of olives, I used about a tablespoon of capers and sauted those with the onions. I'd definitely make this again for a special brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I didn't have an oven safe skillet, but I just transferred the frittata to a round pan, and it came out great! The cream cheese and eggs get so fluffy, and the cooked smoked salmon is delicious. It was like eating at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This got rave reviews at brunch today. I did make a change, and used fresh salmon (Copper River Salmon, to be exact), that had been grilled the night before. I followed the advice of another reviewer and melted the cream cheese w/ the sauteed onions, and I don't think that this is the way to go (unless you are VERY careful). The heat from the pan scorched the cream cheese, which wasn't a problem, really, but I anticipated not being able to flip it out of the pan w/ some cream cheese baked on the pan bottom. (I removed cream cheese, onion & salmon from pan, cleaned the pan, reapplied olive oil, put the mixture back into the frying pan, and then added the egg.) It was beautiful, and everyone seemed to love it! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was incredibly awesome! Not light! I added a tsp each of fresh chopped rosemary and thyme and a half of a fresh jalapeno finely chopped. I also put the cream cheese inside by putting it in with the onion before adding the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was great! I served this for our Easter brunch and everyone raved about it. (Even some who weren't too keen on the idea of fish and eggs together.) I would add some green onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was really good! I don't have a oven proof skillet, so I just put all the ingredients in a casserole and baked it for 30 minutes. Came out great. I also used capers instead of olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I really enjoyed this. My husband didn't try it as he couldn't stand the smell of the salmon. He's not a fish eater for the most part. I loved the blobs of melted cream cheese. This made the dish very decadent and I expect, providing people like salmon and cream cheese, it will be a crowd pleaser. I didn't use olives and used 3 tbsp of oil instead of 4. The frittata stuck to my seasoned cast iron frying pan but didn't burn. Next time I think I'll use 2 tbsp oil, cook the onion/salmon, then place the mixture in with the eggs. Then I'll add 1 tsp of oil to the pan and pour everything in, not mixing it. Hopefully this will provide the bottom of the pan with more lubrication.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
a little too much onion taste for my liking, I'll probably take that out next time. Otherwise really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
Watch the time on this - I think I over baked. Cream cheese remained in blobs on top; next time I will melt this in with onions. Very good flavors! Perfect recipe to use up that 'little dab' of smoked salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States