Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I couldn't find any store/restaurant bought smoked salmon chowder without tomato (which I can't have) so I decided to try this! Made half recipe and it was delicious! I couldn't find fish stock, so I used better than bullion's fish base- I found on Amazon but it's also in some supermarkets. Omitted the lemon juice because of food intolerance, and did use wine (actually, dry vermouth- it's a great substitute for cooking wine in small amounts). I only used half a tablespoon of pepper and I thought that was plenty. You can always grind in some fresh bowl by bowel but hard to fix it if you overdo pepper! Be sure if your smoked salmon comes in big chunks to pull out all the fish bones while you're flaking it. I found TONS of them, only 2 made it in the soup though but thankfully were spotted on the spoon instead of felt in the throat ;) Leftovers were gone quickly- so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I made it exactly like the recipe calls for and it was so good! yes it makes a lot but we shared with our neighbors and freezed some for later. The wine and lemon change up the taste and I think for the better, however it tasted good prior to adding it as well. I portioned part of the chowder out and added cayenne pepper to give it a kick for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
My non-fish loving family loved this chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I made half of the recipe and this is restaurant quality chowder. I had smoked salmon left over from Xmas and wanted to use it up. The only item I left out was corn as I forgot to buy it and the only tip I would give is to chop the bacon small and let it fry until almost crisp before adding the onion and celery. Otherwise it won't cook thoroughly. Will make this for Company and try not to eat it all myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! It took probably an hour to prep all the veggies etc- and I had to use my 2 biggest pots because it didn't all fit in one. I baked my own salmon filet, put butter, salt, and pepper on it. I've never made a roux before but it was pretty easy. I used chicken stock, and added 4 C of shredded cheddar cheese and it was great. I did not use the wine but otherwise followed the recipe. This base could easily be used for a potato corn chowder, or a clam chowder. It is so good, and super impressive!!! It will definitely be one I pull out when I want to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This is a wonderful way to use up all the salmon we had smoked. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Thank goodness we love this recipe because, as so many others have said, it makes an enormous quantity. I meant to halve it but got my wires crossed with my husband, and he started making the whole thing. We couldn't find fish stock so substituted chicken stock. Our only other changes were the addition of about 1/3 cup dry sherry (which adds a really nice but subtle depth of flavor)and some sliced mushrooms (which add a nice extra texture). Thank you for the recipe ... we will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Yes, it does make a lot of chowder, which is perfect for me as my family nibbles on it during the week whenever they're hungry for a quick snack. I make this nearly every week so it is now a staple in my home. I make the stock from scratch using red snapper (or whatever wild caught fish is at the market - I avoid farm raised fish (they are inflammatory)). Use almond milk instead of regular milk (might add a little heavy cream for richness). Use no butter/flour but rather cornstarch mixed with cold almond milk. Haven't tried adding white wine - might some day. Today I'll be swapping out the regular bacon for turkey bacon for the first time. Sometimes use canned (or fresh) clams and clam juice instead of salmon. This recipe is flexible and so very, very delicious. When my kids (20 and 22) bring their friends over, they always ask for it :-) Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Made exactly as recipe was written and the whole faimly raved about it! I would agree with other reviewers that the serving size is very large, but leftovers are even better! My husband remarked that everything from the texture, taste, and presentation of the soup was perfect and could be served in any upscale seafood restaurant. Thank you for the excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
The only thing I had to do different was add dried parsley (forgot to buy fresh) and used vegetable stock (that's what I had) and used fat free 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk. OMG! My whole family LOVED it! There were leftovers, but my hubby and sons took care of that the next day! Trust me! Try this! If you like any kind of seafood chowder, you will love this. I think the lemon and wine really made the difference! I'm going to have to make this for a dinner party soon! It was that impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Smoked Salmon Quiche

Fantastic brunch recipe with smoked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States