Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! It took probably an hour to prep all the veggies etc- and I had to use my 2 biggest pots because it didn't all fit in one. I baked my own salmon filet, put butter, salt, and pepper on it. I've never made a roux before but it was pretty easy. I used chicken stock, and added 4 C of shredded cheddar cheese and it was great. I did not use the wine but otherwise followed the recipe. This base could easily be used for a potato corn chowder, or a clam chowder. It is so good, and super impressive!!! It will definitely be one I pull out when I want to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This is a wonderful way to use up all the salmon we had smoked. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Thank goodness we love this recipe because, as so many others have said, it makes an enormous quantity. I meant to halve it but got my wires crossed with my husband, and he started making the whole thing. We couldn't find fish stock so substituted chicken stock. Our only other changes were the addition of about 1/3 cup dry sherry (which adds a really nice but subtle depth of flavor)and some sliced mushrooms (which add a nice extra texture). Thank you for the recipe ... we will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Yes, it does make a lot of chowder, which is perfect for me as my family nibbles on it during the week whenever they're hungry for a quick snack. I make this nearly every week so it is now a staple in my home. I make the stock from scratch using red snapper (or whatever wild caught fish is at the market - I avoid farm raised fish (they are inflammatory)). Use almond milk instead of regular milk (might add a little heavy cream for richness). Use no butter/flour but rather cornstarch mixed with cold almond milk. Haven't tried adding white wine - might some day. Today I'll be swapping out the regular bacon for turkey bacon for the first time. Sometimes use canned (or fresh) clams and clam juice instead of salmon. This recipe is flexible and so very, very delicious. When my kids (20 and 22) bring their friends over, they always ask for it :-) Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Made exactly as recipe was written and the whole faimly raved about it! I would agree with other reviewers that the serving size is very large, but leftovers are even better! My husband remarked that everything from the texture, taste, and presentation of the soup was perfect and could be served in any upscale seafood restaurant. Thank you for the excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
The only thing I had to do different was add dried parsley (forgot to buy fresh) and used vegetable stock (that's what I had) and used fat free 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk. OMG! My whole family LOVED it! There were leftovers, but my hubby and sons took care of that the next day! Trust me! Try this! If you like any kind of seafood chowder, you will love this. I think the lemon and wine really made the difference! I'm going to have to make this for a dinner party soon! It was that impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
DH said it was darn good! Made a huge pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Super Yummy! I too (as some said below) didn't have fish stock and chicken stock instead. I also cut the recipe in half as I cook for 2. I added some fish sauce for flavor, and was short some ingredients but still turned out delicious! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheese_asteroid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This recipe is GREAT! Hubby got a salmon filet instead of smoked salmon, so we seasoned it and baked it before putting it in the chowder and it still came out amazing. It makes HUGE portions though... use the biggest stock pot you have if you're making the recipe as listed (6 servings), because it'll really make closer to 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Amazing! I substituted the fish stalk with chicken stalk. I didn't want it to get too fishy. And I did not use celery or wine. I also used half the amount of butter and half the amount of flour. It was still thick. But this soup was amazing. Definitely restaurant quality! It is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States