Smoked Pork Butt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This recipe is great. Tried it the other night and the family loved it. I took a suggestion from above and soaked it in the brine overnight. Followed recipe as it is and it was perfect. Didn't even need to salt and pepper to taste. Thanks for sharing. I'll be making this all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrianPav
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I smoked a 8.5lb pork shoulder yesterday and it was fantastic! I did use the basic brine instructions and it soaked over night prior to smoking. I did a few deviations from the recipe per the comments of others. One was that I used Big James' Pork Rub (which you can search on here). I smoked for 9hrs maintaining 200-220F, but I did wrap in foil half way through. And finally I cooked it with the fat side up. After 9hrs, I pulled it off and let it rest for 20-30mim. Results: "fall off the bone", juiciest, tastiest pork shoulder I ever had. I served a party of 12 and it was plenty. People raved about it all night. What a great feeling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My wife asked if I could smoke pork butt for a party we were having that evening. This was great since it was very easy and simple to make. It has also become my families favorite rub!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Excellent recipe. I have made this a few times and I soak mine in basic salt water brown sugar brine for 12-24 hours then rub with a pork rub. I smoke my pork roast or shoulder uncovered for 2-4 hours then rap tight in foil with a small amount of Apple juice for another 12-16. I wait till the temp of the roast is above 185 (I wait till about 200) because then I really does fall right apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I tried this last weekend and it was awesome. Brined overnight and used a combination of the suggested rub and some pre-made rub I had bought from the store. I wouldn't get too particular about the rub - any combination of spices probably works fine. I got the temperature of the meat to right at 180. It fell off the bone and was the best smoked meat i have ever eaten, including anything I have ordered at some very good barbeque restaurants here in KC. Considering you can buy a 7lb Boston rump roast for $14 bucks this is a very economical meal for a decent size group and everyone will be very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I made this last night. It was wonderful (and I don't usually care for bbq). Hubby said it is some of the best he has tasted. I used the "basic brine for smoking meat" recipe on this site. I did not have New Mexico chile powder so I used the Chili Powder that I had. I smoked it with apple wood chunks. After 4 hours I wrapped it in foil and continued smoking the meat. It was tender...and good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
If you are only taking the internal temp to 165 you can't be getting it to pull. 195 IT is about the minimum to get pulled pork. Now, you could chop it at 165 and make a great sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is an excellent recipe have done it s couple times now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great recipe but if you want the meat to fall apart you need to get the internal temp to at least 180-185 degrees. This is the temperature where the bonds break and the meat will fall apart. Also try using apple juice/cider instead of water for a nice sweet flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
if you can putting a bowl of water on your coals helps keep the the meat moist and tender i have always smoked this way and it never fails I use a cabellas electric smoker i found on craigs list and it works great don't be afraid to experiment i've been smoking maet for ten years and i stll try new and different things so have fun with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States