Smoked Paprika Goulash for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
The amount of salt in this recipe was corrected by the Staff on 2/18/2009.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My guys loved it, they actually paused long enough to say this recipe is a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I try not to use much salt in my cooking. I used 2 teaspoons. That seemed perfect and the finished goulash was fantastic. My husband loved it the first night and the second night we took the leftovers to our son's house. They loved the dish too. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was one of the best crockpot dishes I've ever had the pleasure of making, as well as eating! After reading several reviews I did alter the recipe quite a bit. First off, my supermarket had a special on pork stew meat, so I ended up using three pounds of that. I couldn't find smoked paprika anywhere, so I ended up using regular. I also used a rub from "Grill Masters" which was called "Sweet and Smoky Rub" which tasted phenominal! It did have smoked paprika as well as a hint of cinnamon, and also chitpolte powder. I also cut down the onion to one large one, and added two red peppers because I've heard paprikash should always contain red peppers! I also used one package of fresh baby Portabella mushrooms. I also added one can of chopped tomatoes as well as the tomato paste. I did cook it for about 5 hours on low yesterday, and when it was cool I refrigerated overnight. Tonight I threw it back in the crockpot for about three hours on low, and I did serve it over egg noodles. I had some dinner guests this evening, and they could not stop talking about how wonderful it was! I would definately make it to serve the next day, as the taste and the texture of the meat was meltingly tender. All in all....an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My family really really enjoyed this. I thought it tasted great. Funny hubby said more salt and zing other then that, he'd like me to make it again....Me and the kids thought it was excellent. I ate it with out the noodles while everyone ate it with the noodles. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This recipe is fantastic but it is NOT goulash! Goulash is a soup. However, this is so very tasty that I have to remember that people call things by different names. This is actually closer to Paprikas, which is very good also. The key is to use SMOKED paprika. Sometimes it is very hard to find. Regular paprika does not have the same flavor. You want to try and find Pimenton dulce as that is the sweet smoke paprika. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was an awesome dish! I only used 2 lbs of beef stew meat and cut the salt down to less than 1 tsp, 2 tsp is way too much. In place of the water I used low sodium beef broth which was even more of reason to keep the salt to a minimum. One large vidalia onion was plenty of onion for this dish. My last modification was that I used sweet Hungarian paprika in place of the smoked as my store was fresh out of smoked paprika. I always use sweet Hungarian paprika in all my goulashes and paprikash type dishes anyway, although I would love to try this with the smoked next time. I served this over egg noodles with a spoon full of sour cream on each dish. I used a large saute pan and was able to brown all my paprika covered meat at the same time, however I only used 2 lbs so that is probably why. Do try this, it is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The whole family liked this. I will make more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My wife made this for my birthday, and we loved it! Reminded me of the goulash I used to eat in Germany. This one is getting printed out and put in her files so she can make it often for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Fantastic. It does take very little in the way of prep time and the browning of the onion and meat make all the difference in the world! My mum brought home a tin of smoked paprika and asked me to make something with it - this was the perfect intro to a very exciting spice that I am very much looking forward to discovering more recipes. The only thing that I changed was that instead of rinsing the pan with water I used red wine. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States