Smoked Paprika Goulash for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I'm giving it 3 stars instead of 4 as my husband did not care for this dish that much. He was not as fond of the smoked paprika as I was. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
We really like this. I made it in my Dutch oven - shortening the total cooking time to about 2.5 hours (I had also purchased pre-tenderized stew meat, which may have made a difference). I might be tempted to add canned diced tomatoes to this next time, but it was also lovely as written. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was an excellent meal and very easy to prepare. I actually followed recipe closer than I normally do. The only changes I made included adding a little flour to the paprika mixture before coating meat to make sauce a little thicker, and I cooked tomato paste with the onion and garlic in skillet until darkened, adding a splash of wostershire before adding to slow cooker. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holmes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I think this is really good for what it is. I liked it, but my husband and kids said never again. Sorry - I guess it's just personal taste. I have a recipe for Chicken Paprikash that also uses V8 juice and Hungarian Paprika (I'm not sure if that is the same as sweet paprika). This tastes much smokier due to the smoked paprika which I thought went nicely with the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
So tasty! I modified this to cook on the stovetop since I didn't have 4-5 hours to make it as written. Smoky, rich and flavorful sauce that my daughter and husband raved about - next time I will plan ahead, add green bell peppers, tomatoes, potatoes and carrots and use my crock pot. Maybe I'll challenge my mother-in-law to a goulash cook-off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was an awesome dish! I only used 2 lbs of beef stew meat and cut the salt down to less than 1 tsp, 2 tsp is way too much. In place of the water I used low sodium beef broth which was even more of reason to keep the salt to a minimum. One large vidalia onion was plenty of onion for this dish. My last modification was that I used sweet Hungarian paprika in place of the smoked as my store was fresh out of smoked paprika. I always use sweet Hungarian paprika in all my goulashes and paprikash type dishes anyway, although I would love to try this with the smoked next time. I served this over egg noodles with a spoon full of sour cream on each dish. I used a large saute pan and was able to brown all my paprika covered meat at the same time, however I only used 2 lbs so that is probably why. Do try this, it is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was very yummy and easy to prepare. I totally ignored the salt amount (I know AR changed it from 2 tablespoons to 2 teaspoons, but still, that is WAY too much). I was fine with just a sprinkle of salt- the tomato paste has a lot of salt in it already. I'd salt to taste about an hour or so before you serve it. I used a mix of Spanish smoked paprika, and sweet Hungarian paprika (didn't want to use up all of my smoked paprika in one shot!). There was a nice hint of smoke. I only used one pound of meat- 3 lbs would have been way too much for us. This was a very flavorful and hearty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This recipe is fantastic but it is NOT goulash! Goulash is a soup. However, this is so very tasty that I have to remember that people call things by different names. This is actually closer to Paprikas, which is very good also. The key is to use SMOKED paprika. Sometimes it is very hard to find. Regular paprika does not have the same flavor. You want to try and find Pimenton dulce as that is the sweet smoke paprika. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Fantastic. It does take very little in the way of prep time and the browning of the onion and meat make all the difference in the world! My mum brought home a tin of smoked paprika and asked me to make something with it - this was the perfect intro to a very exciting spice that I am very much looking forward to discovering more recipes. The only thing that I changed was that instead of rinsing the pan with water I used red wine. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
My family thought this was delicious. After about 6 hours in the slow cooker, the meat was perfect. I served mine over wide egg noodles. I did make a mistake though. I added tomato sauce instead of paste. I already had the sauce mixed in before I realized what I did so I mixed in a tomato paste. It was still good. What makes this really good is putting the sour cream on top and fresh parsley. I want to make this again using sweet paprika and serve over mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States