Smoked Paprika Goulash for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Decent, This was good but not something I think I will make again because I think I am discovering that I'm not a big fan of smoked paprika, which doesn't reflect on this recipe at all, just my personal preference... Mixing in the sour cream is a must in my opinion. Also, I liked it much better once it cooled off a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Other than braising this on the stove-top in a Dutch oven (four hours – three was not long enough) because I started it too late for the slow cooker, I made this as is – and I can’t imagine anything could be done differently that would have improved this. I was a little gun shy using all smoked paprika and had briefly considered playing it on the “safe” side by using it half and half with sweet paprika. I thought about substituting wine or broth for the water. I entertained the idea of adding mushrooms. In the end, however, I decided against all those changes I thought might make this “better” and in so doing we had a 5-star dinner resulting in clean plates and no leftovers. The meat is fork tender and the beautiful gravy thick, rich and boldly flavored. Different paprika, broth or wine rather than water, additions such as mushrooms – all unnecessary. There was enough depth and character to the dish with the onions, tomato paste and, of course, the smoky paprika. An absolutely delicious and satisfying cold weather dish with good old-fashioned charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Thought this was very flavorful for how easy it was. I used beef broth in place of water and only used 1 lg onion, otherwise I followed the recipe as written. Have made this before and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
my husbands ex wife moved to the states from Hungary and made this dish, and he asked me to find a recipe for it to match hers. He had this recipe and said it tasted BETTER then a true hungarian goulash. Now thats a compliment haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My guys loved it, they actually paused long enough to say this recipe is a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was one of the best crockpot dishes I've ever had the pleasure of making, as well as eating! After reading several reviews I did alter the recipe quite a bit. First off, my supermarket had a special on pork stew meat, so I ended up using three pounds of that. I couldn't find smoked paprika anywhere, so I ended up using regular. I also used a rub from "Grill Masters" which was called "Sweet and Smoky Rub" which tasted phenominal! It did have smoked paprika as well as a hint of cinnamon, and also chitpolte powder. I also cut down the onion to one large one, and added two red peppers because I've heard paprikash should always contain red peppers! I also used one package of fresh baby Portabella mushrooms. I also added one can of chopped tomatoes as well as the tomato paste. I did cook it for about 5 hours on low yesterday, and when it was cool I refrigerated overnight. Tonight I threw it back in the crockpot for about three hours on low, and I did serve it over egg noodles. I had some dinner guests this evening, and they could not stop talking about how wonderful it was! I would definately make it to serve the next day, as the taste and the texture of the meat was meltingly tender. All in all....an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The whole family liked this. I will make more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I thought this was just ok. My husband loved it and said it tasted better the next day. I'll try this again and make 1 day in advance. As other reviewers stated the smoked paprika is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
It was ok. Not very memorable.... and the meat really fell apart into shreds, making it not ideal for pasta. I had a TON of this left over... and it was not eaten over the course of several days so I guess that speaks to the quality of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Very good. I cooked on the stove top instead of a slow cooker for about 4 hours or so on very low. This makes a tasty gravy. I used half beef broth and half red wine instead of water (why add water when you can add flavor?) and bacon drippings to saute the beef but otherwise kept the ingredients the same. I did not sprinkle the meat with the paprika while browning; I sprinkled as it came out of the pan. We'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States