Smoked Paprika Goulash for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
My husband made this today and it was quite good. The only real complaint I have is that it's VERY greasy. Since none of the other reviews mention it, I have to wonder if maybe he used too much oil when browning the stew meat. The broth was very thin as well, so it was almost more of a soup than something I would serve over pasta. However, the flavor is exceptional and the house smelled divine all day. I think next time I would use less salt and add some canned tomatoes, more onions, some green and red bell pepper and celery. I'd probably also add some flour to it to thicken up the sauce. On the whole, it's a great recipe and we will definitely have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I've added some chili powder and diced green and red peppers. Turned out very yummy!!! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Followed recipe exactly, but just wasn't to our taste. Smoked paprika was just too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I made this today and it was delicious. The beef was so tender. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
We also add peppers, potatoes, tomatoes, paprika, caraway seed and sometimes carrots - delicious! This recipe is like a stew with a rather thick sauce. Those who found the smoked paprika not to their liking might try cutting the amount of smoked paprika in half, especially if they used less beef. Those who found it bland might want to add a half teaspoon of marjoram or caraway seed. The best rule of thumb is to make it as written the first time, and then adjust it to your taste the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This meal was full of flavor (so often they slow cook to blandness) and the meat was incredibly tender. I had never used smoked paprika before and have to admit I wasn't crazy about the flavor (which is no reflection on the recipe) but even so I couldn't seem to stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This was a great fall dinner for my husband (I don't eat meat). I used all of the ingredients but used a different method because I was pressed for time. Instead of sautéing the onions, I sliced them thinly and just put them in the crockpot. With the meat, I put all the dry seasonings plus 1/4 cup of flour in a resealable bag, put the meat cubes in, shook it up, and then added that to the crockpot as well as the remaining ingredients, except for the oil, for the goulash. It turned out very well. I'm sure that the original method is also great, and I will do it that way next time, if I have time, but it's good to know you can make this savory dish faster, and I guess lower calorie too by omitting the oil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Cooked 8 hours. Added fresh rosemary, thyme and savory at the finish. Needed salt. Will cut my meat into smaller bits and add some additional spice at the beginning next time, but beautiful color and consistency this round :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This dish was just average and I won't make it again. The sauce was thin and just not full of flavor. I cooked it on low for 6 hours and the meat was a little dry. I think 4 1/2 hours on low would have been perfect. The house did smell wonderful all day and I was really looking forward to this. What a letdown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I liked the cooking technique but it seems like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States