Smoked Oyster Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This was very good and extremely easy to make. I've had it twice now and people really enjoyed it. I would say its a bit thick to "dip", but we just used a knife...yummy. I look forward to trying it with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
This is an excellent dip even with just crackers. I added some of the oil to give it a little more of a smokey flavor, as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
THIS TASTE EXOTIC AND IT IS ADDICTIVE. I USED 6 OUNCES OF CREAM CHEESE AND MASHED THE DRAINED OYSTERS WITH A FORK. I SERVED THIS ON BAGUETTES SLICES. THIS IS SOMETHING YOU WILL REALLY LOVE OR NOT. CRAVING IT AGAIN TODAY. IT IS SO EASY TO MAKE. LET IT SIT OVERNIGHT TO BRING OUT THE BEST FLAVOR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was unbelievable! I love smoked oysters and this was fantastic! Like others said it has a kind of pate like quality and is wonderful served on sliced french baguette. I took the advice of others and did not mash the oysters just roughly chopped them and I also added a little of the oil from the can. You must love smoked oysters for this spread and if you do you will be addicted to this! I would give it more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Delicious! I spread it on fresh bread, toast, celery, it was perfect! I kept nibbling till it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
This is delicious and extremely easy to prepare. No dirtying a mixer, just mix it up in the bowl you plan to serve it in. Not the most attractive appearance (brown in color), but I couldn't stop eating it! You must like the flavor of smoke and oysters, however. As for the 24 servings, it doesn't make much. There is enough to probably top 24 small crackers, but if each guest eats 4 crackers, that will only serve 6 people. I managed to eat the whole thing all by myself as a snack, so you might want to double it for gathering! Ingredients can easily be kept on hand for surprise guests. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Brought to a barbecue and everyone raved about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
It's true you have to like smoked oysters to like this recipe. I just couldn't get into it. I took the spread to a patient of mine who I thought might enjoy it, and now he has me making it for him all the time! So, for the smoked oyster lover, it's a winner. Note: he tops his off with a little hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Delicious recipe!! I love the flavor of the smoked oysters! The first time I made this I only used 1/2 a package of cream cheese and found that I prefer a more of the oyster flavour so the second time I made it I only used about 1/2 cup cream cheese and 1/2 tsp worcestershire. It was yummy!! I have also used a cream cheese replacement (Tofutti better than cream cheese) and it was really even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I love smoked oysters out of a can. I've been trying to find a good spread for the oysters,and this is positively the best. A little lemon juice would be good also. Thanks, Proud Grandfather of 2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom J Hunting for Recipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Rochelle, Poitou-Charentes, France
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States