Smoked Oyster Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
After doing the recipe as directed, I found there was not enough volume to it for my needs. So I added eight ounces of soft cream cheese and served it with a sliced baguette. There was still plenty of the smoked oyster flavor and it made a tasty spread. So if you want to increase the recipe don't add more smoked oysters just cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
This is delicious and extremely easy to prepare. No dirtying a mixer, just mix it up in the bowl you plan to serve it in. Not the most attractive appearance (brown in color), but I couldn't stop eating it! You must like the flavor of smoke and oysters, however. As for the 24 servings, it doesn't make much. There is enough to probably top 24 small crackers, but if each guest eats 4 crackers, that will only serve 6 people. I managed to eat the whole thing all by myself as a snack, so you might want to double it for gathering! Ingredients can easily be kept on hand for surprise guests. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was unbelievable! I love smoked oysters and this was fantastic! Like others said it has a kind of pate like quality and is wonderful served on sliced french baguette. I took the advice of others and did not mash the oysters just roughly chopped them and I also added a little of the oil from the can. You must love smoked oysters for this spread and if you do you will be addicted to this! I would give it more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This recipe makes a nice quantity if you have a taste for pate but don't want to get stuck with a lot leftover. Next time, I would not mash the oysters up too much since they continue to fall apart after the remaining ingredients are combined. Instead of the smooth consistency, you'd get small chunks of oysters in every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This recipe is surprizingly quite good. As someone else mentioned, it has a pate-type taste. The recipe did not indicate though if the oil that the oysters are packed in should be used in the recipe or not. I dribbled in only a few drops of the oil at first and then only added enough until I got a taste I liked. Too much of the oil cancels out the smokey oyster taste. Also, did not mash up the oysters too fine. I prefered getting substantial bites of the oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
THIS TASTE EXOTIC AND IT IS ADDICTIVE. I USED 6 OUNCES OF CREAM CHEESE AND MASHED THE DRAINED OYSTERS WITH A FORK. I SERVED THIS ON BAGUETTES SLICES. THIS IS SOMETHING YOU WILL REALLY LOVE OR NOT. CRAVING IT AGAIN TODAY. IT IS SO EASY TO MAKE. LET IT SIT OVERNIGHT TO BRING OUT THE BEST FLAVOR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This was very good and extremely easy to make. I've had it twice now and people really enjoyed it. I would say its a bit thick to "dip", but we just used a knife...yummy. I look forward to trying it with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Tastes wonderful. Love the smoky taste. The seafood taste of the oysters reminds me of a salmon pate. ty for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I was not fond of this. My guests were not either, I had to throw it away. You must really have to like smoked oysters...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alto, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lowell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
The oomph that people are lacking is a package of ONION SOUP MIX. Add a little olive oil to loosen the mixture, mix in the soup mix with the cream cheese and the mussels/oysters. You also need 2 cans of oysters/mussels per block of cream cheese and soup mix. Refrigerate for a couple of hours and KABOOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superbarnsley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnsley, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States