Smoked Oyster Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Not being a smoked oyster fan, this looked disgusting to me, however, my SO thought this was one of the greatest things he had ever ate. I did make some minor changes. I used 8 oz of cream cheese, 2 tsp worchersire sauce, and about 15 drops of hot sauce, as another reviewer has suggested. I was told this was 5+ stars, and that I could make this at least once a month. He ate the whole thing in two settings, spread on crackers. Thanks for a great recipe MollyB111!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is amazing. I used a little bit of Louisiana Hot Sauce and it was delicious. Really killer on sourdough walnut bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I love smoked oysters out of a can. I've been trying to find a good spread for the oysters,and this is positively the best. A little lemon juice would be good also. Thanks, Proud Grandfather of 2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom J Hunting for Recipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Rochelle, Poitou-Charentes, France
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was very simple and tasty, but the look was not so appealing. It was left alone at a recent party when all the other food was gone. I would make it again, but for a small, intimate group that loves smoked oysters as much as I do. Thankyou for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
LOVED this recipe. I never really thought about how else to serve smoked oysters...I had always served on a dollop of mayo with a saltine. WOW...this was so amazing. My husband likes to take a tin of oysters and crackers to work for lunch sometimes but will now bring this. I have also passed it on to my oyster loving friends already! I served it on tiny melba toasts and topped with a sliver of cucumber and sprinkle of lemon pepper. I liked the consistency after adding a tiny bit of the oil from the tin. BE CAREFUL not to add too much or else it will be much too oily. Served alonside olives, grapes and chopped veggies. What a hit! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBLANDO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
To make the dip softer add about 1-2 tablespoon of sour cream, depends on how much cream cheese you use. This will make it soften up. I used 8ozs of cream cheese,1-2 cans of smoked oysters chopped, 1 tablespoon sour cream and little bit of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I tried this twice as per directions...but then I doubled the creme cheese and added some capers & hot sauce...and, was asked to bring it to a pot luck NYEve get together! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Delicious recipe!! I love the flavor of the smoked oysters! The first time I made this I only used 1/2 a package of cream cheese and found that I prefer a more of the oyster flavour so the second time I made it I only used about 1/2 cup cream cheese and 1/2 tsp worcestershire. It was yummy!! I have also used a cream cheese replacement (Tofutti better than cream cheese) and it was really even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
It's true you have to like smoked oysters to like this recipe. I just couldn't get into it. I took the spread to a patient of mine who I thought might enjoy it, and now he has me making it for him all the time! So, for the smoked oyster lover, it's a winner. Note: he tops his off with a little hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This is a great little appy for us smoked oyster lovers. I used a garlic/herb cream cheese and took the advice of others and roughly chopped the oysters. YUM and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States