Smoked Oyster Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Pretty good! I used 8oz of cream cheese and 1 tin of oysters. Did not change much - used lemon pepper, and also added a little bit of minced onion and a sprinkle of cayenne to zip things up. Next time I would leave out the lemon pepper (added a weird aftertaste) and the hot sauce. Instead I would put in more worcestershire sauce to play up on the smokiness of the oysters. I would also chop up some onions (very very fine) or some chives. Oh yeah - I also added a little bit of olive oil, as someone suggested, but I didn't think it made a difference. I LIKE the thickness of this dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I added a bit more worcestershire, and instead of lemon pepper I put seasoned salt for a more smokey flavor. I also made mine kind of like an oyster bake, putting shredded cheese and crushed crackers on top. Then I set the oven on hi broil and let it cook until the crackers were brown. I thought it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I love smoked oysters so this went over very well. I think I will add some sour cream to it next time as it is quite thick. I am glad I had a sturdy cracker to serve with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I, too, use 8 oz of cream cheese and it has plenty of smoked oyster taste. I love the Worcestershire sauce flavor so I always add a bit more. I've made this recipe for years and don't know why I didn't review it sooner. It's something that can be put together at the last minute and served. It's not the prettiest dip, but it works on flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was very good. I is now a regular in my home. I just added somr green onions for color and taste enhancement. Thank you this recipe=))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
LOVE THIS!! It doesn't look pretty and you don't like smoked oysters you won't like it. But it is SO GOOD! I use 8 oz cream cheese, 2 cans of smoked oysters, 1 tsp lemon pepper, 1 tsp worcestershire, and several drops of tabasco. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
The oomph that people are lacking is a package of ONION SOUP MIX. Add a little olive oil to loosen the mixture, mix in the soup mix with the cream cheese and the mussels/oysters. You also need 2 cans of oysters/mussels per block of cream cheese and soup mix. Refrigerate for a couple of hours and KABOOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superbarnsley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnsley, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I love this dip, though I would hesitate to make it for company, because the oyster flavor is certainly strong and probably not for everyone. I like mine with a dash of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Seriously yummy! I used 8 oz cream cheese, a tad of the oyster oil, Worcestershire & hot sauce. Sprinkled with a little pepper, cayenne, parsley and onion powder. Really loved this - 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Served to group of gourmet cook friends. Some liked it a lot. Others were not enthused about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States