Smoked Oyster Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I added a bit more worcestershire, and instead of lemon pepper I put seasoned salt for a more smokey flavor. I also made mine kind of like an oyster bake, putting shredded cheese and crushed crackers on top. Then I set the oven on hi broil and let it cook until the crackers were brown. I thought it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I love smoked oysters so this went over very well. I think I will add some sour cream to it next time as it is quite thick. I am glad I had a sturdy cracker to serve with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I, too, use 8 oz of cream cheese and it has plenty of smoked oyster taste. I love the Worcestershire sauce flavor so I always add a bit more. I've made this recipe for years and don't know why I didn't review it sooner. It's something that can be put together at the last minute and served. It's not the prettiest dip, but it works on flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was very good. I is now a regular in my home. I just added somr green onions for color and taste enhancement. Thank you this recipe=))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
LOVE THIS!! It doesn't look pretty and you don't like smoked oysters you won't like it. But it is SO GOOD! I use 8 oz cream cheese, 2 cans of smoked oysters, 1 tsp lemon pepper, 1 tsp worcestershire, and several drops of tabasco. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
The oomph that people are lacking is a package of ONION SOUP MIX. Add a little olive oil to loosen the mixture, mix in the soup mix with the cream cheese and the mussels/oysters. You also need 2 cans of oysters/mussels per block of cream cheese and soup mix. Refrigerate for a couple of hours and KABOOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superbarnsley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnsley, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I love this dip, though I would hesitate to make it for company, because the oyster flavor is certainly strong and probably not for everyone. I like mine with a dash of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Seriously yummy! I used 8 oz cream cheese, a tad of the oyster oil, Worcestershire & hot sauce. Sprinkled with a little pepper, cayenne, parsley and onion powder. Really loved this - 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Served to group of gourmet cook friends. Some liked it a lot. Others were not enthused about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Yumm.. Made this for a quick lunch. Added a little mayo as suggested by another review. Also added a chopped scallion and used Tamari soy sauce rather than worchester (because of allergy) I also found that using my small food processor made this a snap to make and the texture was just perfect for my purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States